Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Combi-weapons and Wound allocation.

3.4K views 53 replies 15 participants last post by  DeathKlokk  
#1 ·
This just came up in a discussion with my brother, if you have two otherwise identical models, but one of them has fired their Combi-Melta, do they count as armed differently for Wound allocation?
 
#5 ·
Once again, GW half-assed rushed attempts to fix certain rules, thus opening more holes elsewhere.

Its like trying to tow a car with an old rusty chain with 1/2" links.
If a link breaks and they fix it, a different link will break.
Easier to just throw the chain out and get a new one that can actually do the job.

I have lost all faith in GW's enthusiasm when it comes to their rules.

They get a few emails, and 12 months later they answer a few of them with an FAQ, with complete neglect of the outcomes that it creates.

They could at least ask people on popular forums if they can find any loopholes with certain rule changes.
But no, they are too slack. All they care about is selling models.
 
#6 ·
They could at least ask people on popular forums if they can find any loopholes with certain rule changes.
But no, they are too slack. All they care about is selling models.
ahhhh if only us bitching about them made them listen.... :( maybe one day though :laugh:
 
Save
#16 ·
OK people, less witty personal banter, more rules discussion.

-DK

I actually agree that they are treated separately for wound allocation. The rules say you allocate wounds for models that are alike in game terms which makes a used combi and an unused combi different.
 
#17 ·
I actually agree that they are treated separately for wound allocation. The rules say you allocate wounds for models that are alike in game terms which makes a used combi and an unused combi different.
Aah yes, that would seem to be the answer right there.
Damnit, why couldn't I just have not been lazy and actually checked the rule? :laugh:
So, from that, they are distinguished from non-expended Combis by RAW.
 
#19 ·
"in game terms" means how it is used in-game. Which a used combi is a boltgun in game terms and an unused combi is still a combi in game terms.
 
#20 · (Edited)
in game terms a used/unused combi weapon is still a combi weapon, they don't have seperate descriptions, in this case you allocate wounds based on wargear, not based on what someone has or has not fired during the game.

otherwise you could start getting really anal about rubbish like that
"these 2 models armed exactly the same are different because this model has fired his lascannon twice this one has fired hs lascannon once, so one is armed with a used lascanon the other a slightly more used lascannon"

a combi weapon is a combi weapon, fired or not, it is a combi weapon, not a seperate type of weapon.
 
#21 ·
"these 2 models armed exactly the same are different because this model has fired his lascannon twice this one has fired hs lascannon once, so one is armed with a used lascanon the other a slightly more used lascannon"

Nothing in this statement changes how the model is used in-game, unlike a combi-weapon.

It's not only how the model is armed but how it is used in-game that matters.
 
This post has been deleted
#30 ·
to be honest I don't want to get in the middle, but I don't see how firing a combi weapons secondary ammo relieves it of being a combi weapon, although it is a bit cheap, I don't remember seeing any rules which state that weapons can change type. For instance if you purchase a combi melta for your Canoness the war-gear option is "combi-weapon, bolter-melta". This does not change at any point throughout the course of the game. The description states:
"...may choose which of the weapons he is going to use in the shooting phase.The bolter may be fired any number of times, but the other weapon may be fired only once per battle."
Now if we are playing rule lawyering, then the rules for this weapon are never modified, even if shot. You shoot the secondary weapon then the rules still apply "...The bolter may be fired any number of times, but the other weapon may be fired only once per battle."
Just because you already fired the secondary weapon doesn't mean that the rules suddenly alter, and the combi weapon revers to a bolter, or else it would be something like:
Bolter- Xpoints
-Melta attachment
-Flamer attachment
-yadda yadda yada
If it was like this, then I can see how the one shot rule would apply, but its not, its
Combi Weapon
-Bolter-melta
etc...

Although it may be cheap and needing of a FAQ, the rule is quite clear imo, I would have to say that stella is correct. (note that this is just for witch hunters, the space marine dex even takes it a bit forward by presenting the fact that you go through the weapons rules, then go through the rules for firing the specific weapon, this would be done each time you fire, proving that it is indeed a separate weapon at all times)
 
Save
#31 ·
This is a weird topic, if you give someone a Combi-Weapon, they have a unique and different piece of wargear for wound allocation purposes unless all the other models have Combi-Weapons as well. Even after they have used it, they still have it, it's just run out of it's extra ammo (Plasma, Flamer or Melta)

It's really that simple folks.
 
#32 ·
They define the same in gaming terms as The same profile, special rules, weapons and wargear. Both the unfired and fired Combi weapon are the same bit of wargear so it makes no odds on the 'state' of that wargear.

That said this kinda thing will pretty much never come up as complex unit wound allocation is almost much always used, unless you manage to get your sergeant killed for whatever reason.
 
#37 ·
I view it this way:
I have 6 sternguard, 2 combi meltas, 2 combi flamers, a bolter and a sgt with a bolter power/PW. That is 4 different model types. If and I'm thinking as a sternguard space marine, Joe my combie melta buddy and I went to combi melta class to know how to use the combi meltas are in the squad listed above. I fired my combi melta at a rhino. Later in the fight Joe gets tagged in the head. I know joe never fired his combi melta. I am going to grab his so that I can use it. Or Joe still has his combi melta and a crap ton of fire is coming down on us. I jump in front of Joe "For The Emperor!" knowing that the squad needs Joe's combi melta and if I die I get to be put in a kewl dread (maybe). Combi meltas are combi meltas fired or not. Its the same or we need to allow the person firing at us allocate the hits then he rolls to wound and we save after that. I me to me it makes sense. Crap!!!! He has a Lascannon! Everyone fire at the lascannon guy. Its target priority but thats not the way it works so we need to go with K.I.S.S. and play the game.
 
#38 · (Edited)
By this we mean they have the same profile of characteristics, the same special rules and the same weapons and wargear."

The weapon remains a combi-weapon whether or not it has already used the combi-round.
yes, how can you say that it turns into a bolter at any point?

A combi Melta that has not fired definitely "stands out in game terms" whereas one that has fired it's shot does not stand out from a regular bolter-armed Marine.
It does not stand out when 'firing' said bolt rounds, but the only reason you CAN fire bolt rounds is because the combi-weapon rules state you can fire it as a boltgun, just as you CAN fire its secondary ammo once per game, it is and will always be a combi-weapon. But when allocating wounds, if you had two of the same combi-weapon then they would be grouped together, which could potentially lose you a unused combi-weapon.
The only time this rule is beneficial is when you only have one of said combi-weapon, and that's usually only going to be a sgt anyways.
 
Save
#40 · (Edited)
I am still leaning towards them being treated the same for wound allocation.

A combi-weapon is a combi-weapon, regardless if it has fired or not.
It doesn't magically turn into a Bolter. :)



Taken from another forum....

Regarding wound allocation, there has been much made of this, but the rulebook is pretty clear IMO, models that are "Identical in gaming terms" are defined as those that "have the same profile of characteristics, the same special rules and the same weapons and wargear", and these identical models take saving throws as a group.

While a Combi weapon may no longer function as anything other than a bolter, there's nothing in it's rules which say it ceases to be a combi-weapon, or becomes anything else.

So the act of firing off a Combi weapon is insufficient to distinguish one member of a squad from another with an unfired Combi weapon, you would roll thier armour saves together, and assuming you failed any, would presumably remove the spent combi weapons before the unspent ones.
 
#44 ·
A brick wall made of fact though. 'Game terms' are defined in the rulebook, A Combi-Melta is a weapon. It doesn't stop being a Combi-Melta after you fire it so a Sternguard who has fired his is identical in 'Game Terms' to one who has not.
 
#45 · (Edited)
Page 25 BRB
"have the same profile of characteristics, the same special rules and the same weapons and wargear".


Regardless of if they use their single shot or not, the models still have the same profile of characteristics, the same special rules, the same weapons, and the same wargear.
If you can find me a rule that overrides this one, then please show me. :)
 
#47 ·
Just to be clear here, a Combi-Melta, and a Combi-Melta which has expended its Melta-ness are NOT the same piece of wargear.
Yeah, they have the same name, but one is capable of something, where the other is not capable of it.
That's like saying what Stella was saying, this lascannon has fired, this one has not. Juts because part 2 of the combi-weapon is unable to fire doesn't mean that it cieses
to be a combi-weapon.

Yes it is. I am glad that you have enough character to admit that about yourself.
It's like talking to a brick wall.
come on guys, as much fun as name calling can be, I don't think this is the time nor place to do it.

Winterous: I respect your opinions, but it seems that your argument is not supported well enough to make aramoro or me believe it. Don't say that our counter arguments are equated to talking to a brick wall, because that just makes your argument seem less noteworthy. You are saying that a combi-weapon is not the same as a combi-weapon after its fired. If it weren't then there would be a alternative profile, or a reference to the fact in the rules (ie: after being fired x weapon reverts to y, or after being fired x weapon is considered y for all intents and purposes.), or even a FAQ mention. However as it stands there is not, and therefore x is x, not y.
 
Save
#48 ·
What I meant by the brick wall comment was exactly that 'weapon has fired' 'counter-argument' that Stella proposed, it's utter stupidity, as to draw that from my argument was basically to completely ignore my argument.
But you're right, I apologise for that comment, except to Stella, to whom it was justified.

Basically the whole discussion balances on how the rulebook defines 'identical in gaming terms'.
It says, roughly "By this we mean with the same characteristics, weapons, and wargear.".
My point of view is that 'the same' means 'equal', for two Combi-weapons to be equal, they must be of equal value and status; if one is expended and the other is not, they are not equal.
 
#50 ·
So if we look solely at current stats for determining if it is a like model then if you had 4 Nobs, 2 with PK, and 2 with choppas everything else is the same as far as war gear however one PK has been wounded and 1 choppa has been wounded now none of the models have the same stat line. You have a PK with 2 wounds, a PK with 1 wound, a choppa with 2 wounds, and a choppa with 1 wound. That is 4 different stats now.
 
#52 ·
*facepalm*

Reading the rulebook could be a good start.
It gives a perfect example of this EXACT situation on page 26 under "Units of multiple-wound models".

A summary of their example....

3 identical Nobz and 1 different.
(Lets say 3 with Choppa/Slugga and 1 with Klaw/Slugga)

They suffer 9 wounds, allocate, and long story short one of the identical Nobz fails a save, along with the one thats different.

So there is....

Nob - 2 wounds - Choppa/Slugga
Nob - 2 wounds - Choppa/Slugga
Nob - 1 wound - Choppa/Slugga
Nob - 1 wound - Klaw/Slugga

Now quote...
"The unit is then fired upon by another enemy and suffers a single wound. This will automatically kill the wounded Nob (assuming it fails its save) and cannot be allocated to the remaining healthy Nob."

Although if you wanted to, you could allocate it to the Klaw/Slugga Nob if you wanted to (even if it has 2 wounds), although i dont see why you would want to.




Either way, both the Combi-weapon debate and the lost wounds debate is simply trying to search for a loop-hole where no loop-hole exists.

I have given evidence to support my arguments with direct quotes from the rulebook, and have found no exceptions to the rules.

If anyone was so desperate to win that they tried to pull any of these 2 tactics on me, i would simply pack up my models and leave.
 
#51 ·
A combi-melta is a combi-melta is a combi-melta, end of story. Just because it has fired does not mean it ceases to be a combi-melta. Nothing in the rules supports this.

When you buy a piece of Wargear for a model, that model has that piece of Wargear equipped. Just because he is barred from using that wargear does not mean it is ever removed or replaced by anything else.

Give a page out of the BRB or a FAQ that states that a spent combi-melta magically transforms into a Bolter. I'm willing to bet that no such rule exists, because it makes no sense, and i've never EVER seen someone magnetize all their models' hands so they can replace the combi-weapon with a normal Boltgun once it's been used.

Its much like if i have a 6-shot revolver and i fire all 6 shots. An empty revolver is functionally a club, but i am NOT armed with a club, i'm armed with an (empty) revolver.
 
#54 ·
Yeah it's more of a feeling on my part as well (yes I have them in here somewhere). Just the idea that an unfired melta is much different from a useless one.

Since we're on pg 6 and Wint and I are the only ones bucking the trend I'm gonna go ahead and drop the shades on this one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
You have insufficient privileges to reply here.