Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Unforgiven302's Tyranid Swarm

17K views 79 replies 26 participants last post by  Tinkerbell 
#1 · (Edited)
Alright, this is my very first project log! After playing and painting chaos marines for what seems like ages, (15 years) it was well past due for me to start a new army. After much debate and procrastination I made my final decision to go with Tyranids. I wanted something different than "humans" or power armor, and Tyranids fit the bill perfectly. It also didn't hurt that I think the codex is very well written and chock full of options to pick from. More options = good!

So I thought I would start from the beginning, unboxing of the new army.

Battleforce box set and a Hive tyrant all set to kick off this project.

Sprues and sprues and sprues! It's a swarm or sprues!

You do get a lot of stuff in the Tyranid battleforce box. Model count is very high. That is a good thing!

Next up will be assembly and option choices. Stay tuned to see where this goes. :victory:

See less See more
#2 ·
I suspect this will be another great addition to the many awesome project logs on heresy.

That is a serious boatload of sprues, can't wait to see some painted up :victory:

#4 ·
Thanks for the early vote of confidence varakir. This is going to be a big departure for me, seeing as I am so used to painting tanks, vehicles and power armor. I must admit, I am a bit hesitant to begin. But, I welcome the challenge and look forward to learning not only a new army but new painting and modeling technique's.

My son has been collecting and painting a Nid army for several years and he started drooling and twitching when he began to see advance copies of the new Nid models and has regaled me with the details of what his bugs can do....unfortunately I haven't yet found the mix my Tau Army needs to respond to them effectivly. I'll get there.