Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok lets say at the beginning of your turn you decide to target a unit which is almost defeated. Lets say a spinegaunt unit with 2 gaunts left. you attack the until with your 10 man terminator squad or w/e and you land 4 wounds in the shooting phase. each gaunt has 1 wound and all remaining gaunts are dead. In a situation like that are the terminators able to go ahead and attack something else because some wounds were not used, or does the terminator shooting phase end?

If the phase ends, are there any exceptions to the rules? For instance a full unit of 32 spinegaunts attack a unit of 2 remaining space marines and kill them. It seems rediculous if 10 wounds were landed after armour saves or w/e.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
sorry pal the shooting for that unit would be over, they cannot shoot or attack another unit. no exceptions that i'm aware of
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Nope. Nor can they assault a different target.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,636 Posts
Yup...limitations of the rules.
The rules could allow for things like that, but that would seriously bloat the system which is kind of getting away from the direction GW is trying to go.
Simplified yet functional.
Something will fall through the cracks.

Of course you could make up house rules.
"If you shoot at a unit and they are wiped out completely if another unit is within assault range you can assault it instead." or something like that.

Nothing wrong with house rules.
 

·
The Traveler
Joined
·
2,559 Posts
No, I would think that those extra wounds involve the termies squashing the guant's skulls under their feet.

-Dirge
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top