Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

I thought it would be fun to post my logs on here so I could get some constructive critisism!

I have finished a few things already, but I may post them anyways, to see what you guys think and see if I should fix anything!

First up is going to be a Maulerfiend!

I used Army Painter Dragon Red watered down to two layers. I find watering it down makes it easier to get the shade I want. As they say, "A thousand thin layers is better than one thick layer." Two seems to be the magic number for me, as it doesn't distort the details, but doesn't just look like a little bit of paint was brushed on.

I hope you like my stuff, and some of the stuff I am learning!

Please keep in mind, I am a new painter to miniatures, so I am not the best, but I enjoy doing it... :victory:

http://postimage.org/

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
wow that is super red.

its difficult to give any input on this at the moment as cant really see a lot with these pictures.

Keep it up and lets see what updates you got for us next

Yeah, sorry. I think I will take pictures with my SLR first to start with a baseline. My phone makes it look a lot bright than it actually is. With the shade on, it's far darker than it looks... especially when it's dried.

I will be drybrushing next, to make the highlights.

Thanks for the heads up though!

·
Entropy Fetishist
4,249 Posts
I might honestly go for a brown or black shade rather than a red one--the red is decent if you want it to look slick and gorey all over, but for decay, damage, weathering, or a more natural sense of recesses, shading and depth, you could consider another color shade! It adds a bit of variety to the monochrome hue there, as I see it.