Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A quick question regarding Chaos Warriors under 8th edition.

Previously you could equip them with an additional hand weapon [or halbard, or great weapons] AND also give them a shield.

You could then elect to use either a hand weapon and shield OR the alternate equipment in any given situation.

For example, you'd employ the shield vs shooting.

What happens in this situation under 8th edition rules?

I ask because I'm trying to start up my WoC army buld again and already have a unit where I've mixed the minis to show both shields and ass hand weapons.

Cheers
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Now, you must use a special weapon if able. However, it's not clear that an additional hand weapon is a special weapon-- the way I've read the book, it seems that additional hand weapons still fall under the header "hand weapon" and not "special weapon." They define everything that's a special weapon as anything that's not a hand weapon. There's a full listing of everything else on the weapons page.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah, I don't have the BRB yet due to a lack of funds... that and I may wait for isle of blood, loving the look of the Skaven plus a more convenient mini rulebook.

Mainly trying to find out due to mini construction and painting.

Thanks for the answer though, if i'm correct it would seem then that I can still use the shield vs shooting but in combat I would have to use the halbard or great weapon.... but that it's unclear how the rule would apply against shield or additional hand weapon.

Would that be right?

IE, I can still take the shield and a weapon?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
353 Posts
Whizwang that is incorrect. Blacks orcs still retain that abilty, but other troops MUST elect to use a special weapon, i.e a unit of Warriors of chaos with shields and halbers, they still gain the shield bonus to shooting, but in combat must fight with halberds.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Sweet, so modelling wise i'm fine and the only thing that's unclear would be if an addditional hand weapon counted as 'special'.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
116 Posts
If you apply the logic of why they wrote the rule about special weapons (which they clearly explain as warriors trained to use the special weapon exclusively, so why pick something less killy in a life-or death combat?) then I'd argue that two hand weapons counts as a special weapon as (1) it confers a bonus of some sort, and (2) warriors will have trained to cause all sorts of carnage with two weapons, so why would they opt to use shields which they would arguably be less familiar with in combat?
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,562 Posts
If you apply the logic of why they wrote the rule about special weapons...
I see your point; however, fluff is not rules.

then I'd argue that two hand weapons counts as a special weapon as (1) it confers a bonus of some sort....
The definition of special weapon does not mention bonus; it says (as TSoH correctly mentioned) that special weapons are weapons that are not hand weapons.

(2) warriors will have trained to cause all sorts of carnage with two weapons, so why would they opt to use shields which they would arguably be less familiar with in combat?
If you buy a unit two upgrades (in this case another sword and a shield) then they are arguable as familiar with both.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
I don't see the reason for the debate here with this subject. It is an extra -hand weapon- not a halberd, magic weapon, etc. Such things would fit the description of a special weapon as they are not defined as hand weapons. This is literally called a hand weapon. I never once even thought that the ehw was a special weapon just because it gives +1 attack for having two of them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I don't see the reason for the debate here with this subject. It is an extra -hand weapon- not a halberd, magic weapon, etc. Such things would fit the description of a special weapon as they are not defined as hand weapons. This is literally called a hand weapon. I never once even thought that the ehw was a special weapon just because it gives +1 attack for having two of them.
Heh, it's not really a concern just something that was raised in a reply. Can't really think of a situation where it will really matter.

My main concerns were from modelling [ie mix of ahw and shields] and whether it was still legal. That's been answered so I'm happy :)
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top