Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is one thing that I am just not all that clear on. I thought that I was limited to my rulebook. Which, being as the only one I own is Imperial Guard, is somewhat confining. Now, I was looking over some other commentaries and apparently people can pick from other lists as well, or that's what people have been saying.

This leads me to ask some very important questions that might cause me to revamp what I'm planning:
- Does that mean that I can pick from Leman Russ variants and scout vehicles found in the Armored Company rules even if I'm not following Armored Compnay rules?
- Does that mean that I can steal Space Marines and put them under my Junior Officer's command?
- What about Witchhunters and Demon Hunters? Could I add some of their stuff to back up my troops?
- What are the limitations on this? How far is "too far"?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
They way I play it, most any tank from IA is up for grabs as they all for the most part are very well balanced. However, I don't like adding Inquisition pieces to my army. It feels like I am min-maxing. I don't think you can add Space Marines though. I guess you could use Space Marine models and say they are a part of a Sisters of Battle regiment.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They way I play it, most any tank from IA is up for grabs as they all for the most part are very well balanced. However, I don't like adding Inquisition pieces to my army. It feels like I am min-maxing. I don't think you can add Space Marines though. I guess you could use Space Marine models and say they are a part of a Sisters of Battle regiment.
So, there are rules somewhere that says that Imperial Gaurds can sometimes command Inquisitorial Armies or something?

To be perfectly frank, that anyone could use models from someone else's army is news to me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,374 Posts
ok, the inquisitors accompany the IG, neither leads either. Space marines cannot mix with IG, but can with Inquisitors. Same for IG, they cant mix with SM, but can accompany Inquisitors.

other than that, no mixing is allowed between any races. obviously its different if your allying armies. like SM can ally with IG, and you can have both sets of model, but both have to be legal armies and able to operate independantly. same goes for chaos. chaos can ally with IG or SM, as it is able to taint them.

i hope that clarifies things a little
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Yeah, I Apocolypse you can field anything and everything you want, even mixing chaos marines with ultramarines and a smattering of tyranids for flavour. In regular 40k you can ally as well but you have to have a fully separate detachment for each meaning each detachment must have 1 HQ, 2 Troops to be used.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
That answers most of my question. But what about the Armored Company/Regular rules changeover?

Is the Armored Company rule Apocolypse? I am looking at a couple of tanks in there that I would prefer over the standard Leman Russ in Very Low/Very High point situations.
 

·
Ex Mod.
Joined
·
4,245 Posts
This is one thing that I am just not all that clear on. I thought that I was limited to my rulebook. Which, being as the only one I own is Imperial Guard, is somewhat confining. Now, I was looking over some other commentaries and apparently people can pick from other lists as well, or that's what people have been saying.

This leads me to ask some very important questions that might cause me to revamp what I'm planning:
- Does that mean that I can pick from Leman Russ variants and scout vehicles found in the Armored Company rules even if I'm not following Armored Compnay rules?
- Does that mean that I can steal Space Marines and put them under my Junior Officer's command?
- What about Witchhunters and Demon Hunters? Could I add some of their stuff to back up my troops?
- What are the limitations on this? How far is "too far"?
1) not if you are using only the IG codex rules. however you can if you are playing apocolypse of have your opps permisson.
2)i dont really get the question, but no.
3+4) you can ally them, yes. the exact rules for these allying can be found in the respective inquisition codex.

as for armoured company rules, they were released around the same time as the IG dex in chapter approved. you can field an entire tank army if you wish, and the extra variants in that list can be used in a standard IG army but ONLY with your opponents permission.

as for all these apoc questions, i really dont know....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Awww...

So it's all either/or then, all these Apocalypse commentaries mixed in really messed me up. Well, I guess I'll have to make do with the basic stuff.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yeah Apocalypse is kinda of a "no rules on what you take" kinda situation.

In regular games you can make do with "Allies" amd you can do a lot on the Imperial/Inquisition side.

Imperial Guard and Space Marines can take Inquisitorial allies IN ADDITION to their own force as long as they meet all required force organization chart rules for their mission. Standard FOC rules require 1 HQ and 2 Troops. After that you can start taking either Demonhunter or Witchhunter allies. If you have the required codex you can take upto 1 HQ, 1 Elite, 1 Fast Attack, and 2 Troops and add them to your force.

Now these Inquisitorial forces on their own can take what they call "Inducted Imperial Guard" and "Inducted Space Marines" as part of their force but only certain units, small amounts and only the generic forms without traits or doctrines so very vanilla.

Last but not least... ANY Imperial force may include 1 DeathWatch Kill team as an additional HQ choice. The rules for takeing them may be found on the GW webpage.

In essence there is a way for almost any Imperial army to take something from any other Imperial Army with the exception that Space Marines can not take Imperial Guard. This is the only thing I havent been able to find yet.

So the short list is...

Space Marines can have Deamonhunter, Witch Hunter, and Deathwatch allies.
Imperial Guard can have Daemonhunter, Witch Hunter, and Deathwatch allies.
Deamonhunters can have Deathwatch, Inducted Guard, Inducted Space Marines, and Witch Hunter allies.
Witch Hunters can take Inducted Guard, Inducted Space Marines, Demonhunter, and Deathwatch allies.

Is it clear as mud yet??
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top