Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Black or White

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
784 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do you basecoat your minis? Black or White? I've been painting for several years longer then I've been playing. I've used black for everything and I've been very successful. However, I switched to white just recently and it seemws to provide a much cleaner result and more vibrant colors. I'd just like to hear some peoples thoughts and experience with both styles.

·
Registered
97 Posts
My only rule for undercoat is "Do not use White undercoat with red colours, It goes pink and it doesn't look good" When i first started i used white but then i decied to use black in case i have to use red.

·
Registered
466 Posts
I have a bit of a mixed oppinion on this because i use both 50/50 white when i first started painting i did everything with a white basecoat, i think it was the fear of having to paint vibrant colours over black that put me off.
But for me i enjoy using both.

Warpath

·
Registered
128 Posts
White painting imperial fists is hard enough without making it worse, lol, and my nids are fairly bright colors so i go with whit for them too.

But ive just started on Chaos marins and The Purge do look much better with a black base coat. And im following the painting instruction on the GW website for some dire avengers so their black base coat as well.

For my terrain its normally black base coat all the way.

It really does depend on your painting style and coloring (obvious, lol)

·
Registered
104 Posts
My Army has Black and White units lol. (Standard troops Black and HQs/Elites/Veterans/Special Characters White.)

So Black undercoat for the Black models and White for the White and Black/White models.

The problem is all models will have a dark color or two so I got to hand paint it black on the White Undercoat then I get the painful task of having to touch up the white when I mess up.

·
Registered
177 Posts