Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to 40k and will be playing Necrons. I have the battleforce box and want to build up my force to first 1000 points then 2000 and I'll be doing it pretty quickly with just a couple big purchases so I can get to playing. Competitive play sounds like fun and I will definitely play some tournaments once I get the game's basics down, I have an eye towards competitive builds.

I have an idea on what to buy so far, it doesn't take me to 2000 pts. but the units that look good so far are:
Annihilation Barges
Night Scythes
Overlord
Vaguard Obyron

Past that I'm clueless on what to add to my collection. I will be looking at the codex a lot more but there's plenty of options that won't be apparent since I'm a greenhorn. I'm also not too sure on what my options are for general playstyle but some heavy support that can bring the pain at range (even if it's not at really long range) is something I enjoy in any game. I've looked at some of the tactica here (good stuff) and will look more but would like to get some additional and up-to-date opinions.

Any comments on what I need and why those are good picks?

·
Registered
6,323 Posts
I bought a Lord w/resorb, a box of Warriors, a box of Immortals and a Night Scythe. Gives me a 20 cron blob with a resorb, NS w/10 Immortals, a healthy smattering of scarabs, and a ghost ark with 10 more warriors kicking it with the blob. It's a bit of a one trick pony, but it's around 1k.

·
Super Moderator
10,976 Posts
Get Zandrekh first, then Obyron won't take up a HQ slot and the old lord has some awesome buffs to offer your army.

·
Registered
1,384 Posts