Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys

Not sure where to place this, so just put it here...

Basically, my question is concerned with kitting out Ork Boyz. They come standard with a choppa and slugga. Now, what I wanna know is, why wouldn't you give them a shoota?

As far as I know, their CC wouldn't change. And instead of a slugga you get a much superior weapon.

In short, they would still have the same WS, S, T, A, I if they have choppa/slugga or if they have a shoota. So is there any reason not to give them shootas?

Thanks

Jack.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
460 Posts
The main one that comes to mind is points, though I'm not sure what the points cost is. Another might be for fluff reasons. A final one might have to do with their being too few shootas in the ork packs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
They are a free upgrade!

Ignore fluff in your reasonings, I wanna look at it purely from a gaming standpoint :) Should ahve said that my bad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
because you prefer the look of sluggas and choppas?, looks are a gaming standpoint.
Hmm, I guess that would be a reason for some people.

In terms of damage output, or just giving them better weapons.

I am correct in thinking that giving them a shoota doesn't change their CC ability yes?

If so, then giving them a shoota which has better stats that a slugga for free sounds like it should be done competitivly! Am i making sense at all? lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,242 Posts
Shoota boyz have less attacks and don't seem to last as long in combat as Slugga boyz.
 

·
blahblahblahblah
Joined
·
6,663 Posts
of course you could just go 50/50 on slugga and shoota boys, you'll get flak from "competetive" gamers, but hell to them.
 

·
Punx For Life
Joined
·
946 Posts
choppas are a cc weapon so give you a +1 attack, so you get 3 attacks and you get 4 attacks per boy on the charge.

with shootas you get the standard 2 attacks and 3 on the charge
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Oh ok. Didn't know that. Thanks mate!

Now, does that apply to every CC weapon? Even for differetn races (sorry been a while since I last played)

So, say a Space marine captain has 3A, if you give him a power sword does he get 4? If not, then I'm a bit confused :S lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,807 Posts
Oh ok. Didn't know that. Thanks mate!

Now, does that apply to every CC weapon? Even for differetn races (sorry been a while since I last played)

So, say a Space marine captain has 3A, if you give him a power sword does he get 4? If not, then I'm a bit confused :S lol
The Power Sword is his first CC Weapon therefore already incorproated into his base A of 3.
If you give him a Lightning Claw or Thunder Hammer as well as the Power Sword then he gets an extra 1A.

SGMAlice
 

·
Unforgiven
Joined
·
689 Posts
The Power Sword is his first CC Weapon therefore already incorproated into his base A of 3.
If you give him a Lightning Claw or Thunder Hammer as well as the Power Sword then he gets an extra 1A.

SGMAlice
Unfortunately, he does not, as that is considered 2 complex weapons, and does not get an extra attack.


OP, the rule is:

You get base attacks with whatever weapon you are carrying. (Ork boy has 2) If you have 2 close combat weapons, you get an extra attack. A pistol weapon counts as an extra close combat weapon. So your Ork boy, armed with a CCW and a Pistol (His choppa and slugga), gets an additional attack. (Bringing his attacks to 3)

If you give the Ork Boy a shoota, he looses his two CCW's, and thus only gets 2 attacks.


For more information, see page 37 of your Big Rule Book.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
If you give him a Lightning Claw or Thunder Hammer as well as the Power Sword then he gets an extra 1A.
Can you do that?! :eek:

Please give me a page reference in the BRB I can look this shit up! :)

EDIT - Thanks Gally!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,807 Posts
Unfortunately, he does not, as that is considered 2 complex weapons, and does not get an extra attack.


OP, the rule is:

You get base attacks with whatever weapon you are carrying. (Ork boy has 2) If you have 2 close combat weapons, you get an extra attack. A pistol weapon counts as an extra close combat weapon. So your Ork boy, armed with a CCW and a Pistol (His choppa and slugga), gets an additional attack. (Bringing his attacks to 3)

If you give the Ork Boy a shoota, he looses his two CCW's, and thus only gets 2 attacks.


For more information, see page 37 of your Big Rule Book.
I know this, It was merely to demonstrate the addition of a second weapon. Possibly done slighty wrong... :p ah well :p
@Ultra: No you can't, As Gally said; its two complex weapons. Though i am sure i've seen it done somewhere... ah well

SGMAlice
 

·
Unforgiven
Joined
·
689 Posts
Can you do that?! :eek:

Please give me a page reference in the BRB I can look this shit up! :)

EDIT - Thanks Gally!
See the bottom right of page 42 for different weapons. You need 2 Lightning Claws/Powerfists/Thunderhammers to get the extra attack.


@SGMAlice,
I figured that, just though I'd clarify. And posting simultaneously makes me sound like a jerk, lol
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,645 Posts
but really, there is not reason to not take shoota boyz. Being assault weapons, you can still charge after firing them and the additional shot makes up for the loss of one attack. Especially when you are out of charge range.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
If you give him a Lightning Claw or Thunder Hammer as well as the Power Sword then he gets an extra 1A.
That's not right. I don't have by rule book on me but check the section on weapon types in the assault chapter and then you see that power fist or thunder hammers don't confer an extra attack unless you have two of the same weapon. So if you give him a Power sword and TH then you only get to use the Thunder Hammer and the power sword offers no benefit.

You can however replace his bolter with a power sword and keep his bolt pistol to get the extra attack, and then even the extra attack from the pistol ignores armor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,807 Posts
@SGMAlice,
I figured that, just though I'd clarify. And posting simultaneously makes me sound like a jerk, lol
Yeah thanks :gimmefive: I boo boo'd a little methinks XD

@ArchangelPaladin: We have been through this, Read all post in future please.

SGMAlice
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
personally, i LIKE the shoota. it still gives you 2 shots at 5 bs, but if you have a maxed out unit, thats a LOT of shots, and so a LOT of chances to wound. even if one turn it doesn't shoot so well, you can still charge with either a- that same unit or b- the other-unit-of-boys-that-you-took-in-case-of-a-fail-turn-like-this....
in other words, big risk, big reward.:)
 
1 - 20 of 44 Posts
Top