Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have been thinking about playing fantasy ever since I started playing 40k about 9months ago and I was wondering with the new edition out what armies are good and what to stay away from...
About my play style:
In 40k I play ig and like it but would probably favor magic and assault for a change of pace
I am a very non aggressive player and only do what I can to win without unnecessary risks.

So what armies are good for 8th that fit me?

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
The problem you'll find is that to favour magic and assault you'll need to be more aggressive in your playstyle as the main armies that use these have few passive elements to their effective army builds ( Chaos warriors, deamons, beastmen, skaven and most elves can pull of aggressive play and still have magic)
The most passive type of armies rely on gun lines and although armies like dwarves or empire will suit a less aggressive style of play only Empire uses magic but are much like guard in combat while dwarf warriors and dedicated combat units are very resillient and can dish out the pain they have no magic prefering artillery.

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
So if you're sick of gunlines then we can drop the Skaven, the Empire, the Dwarfs and both Elves. If you're a "safety first" type of player the WoC is definately not your cup of tea, though their thick Chaos armour is the safest place in the game aside from Dwarven plate armour. I'm not sure about it but from the looks of it the Lizardmen would be the best for you. Great army with pretty good magic and close combat capabilities, and you might just end up liking their fluff. :)

But seriously, read the fluff of each army, it helps tremendously. Unless of course if you're a 100% gamer, in which case it would be best if you asked around in your LGS, observed a few games and see what looks good for you.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #5