Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today was the second time this month that my wife needed me to use my hobby tools to fix some jewelery. The first time was using a set of picks to un-knot a fine silver chain. Today I had to reset a gemstone that somehow popped out of a ring.
This had me thinking: If I'm using my bench, picks, glue, and high powered flexy lamp as a pseudo jewelers workshop what are other hobbyists using their areas for?

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
My hobby tools double all the time. Mostly it is my scalpel and my steel ruler that is beeing used for my wifes cardmaking. One or two techniques has also been picked up by her for painting her nails! :biggrin:

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The only thing nail related my wife learned from the hobby is gluing her fingertips together. I've mastered that technique long ago.

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
I'm a professional visual artist so I use a lot of my tools for design work. For example, my t square for cutting materials straight, my x acto blade from scoring and cutting, brushes for, duh. etc.

and I use my nail clippers meant for biting off larger hunks of flash to clip hang nails.

·
Critique for da CriticGod
3,351 Posts
I have 2 adjacent desks one for miniature work and traditional media art (larger), the other with a computer, Xbox, wacom tablet, and bills - so work, play, digital art, and responsibility (smaller).

A lot of my tools get used on household projects and my wife's art/crafts. For Halloween she made Jedi robes for her, me, and our 2 year old. A lot of my illustration tools and drafting experience went into scaling and reproportioning the robe pattern she found for different sized adults and a small child.

Good fun =)

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
My wife made a load of plaster of paris christmas tree decorations...And then painted them and varnished them with GW paints...heh Fineplast.

·
Premium Member