Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello!

I'm new at painting (painted some models a few years ago, and recently got back into it).

I have a real problem trying to layer my models.

At the moment I'm following a straight-forward tutorial for my plaguebearers. I've primed them and based them green. But when I want to layer on the next colour, it just comes out really ugly.

Here is my plaguebearer: Primed, based with Deathworld Forest and then washed with Biel-Tan Green.

So far so good, in that it just looks like a work in progress.

After that I try to layer on with Nurgling Green, and this is the result

It just looks pretty awful.
What ends up happening I feel is that the paint feels too thin. (First image). I try to layer it on, but it just doesn't stick well and is pretty runny. If I try to compensate by adding more colour to the mix (second image) it just gets painfully obvious where the line is between the base colour and the layering.

Any tips on what I can do is greatly appreciated. I'm guessing the answer lies in blending, but from the tutorial (it skips some parts, but from what I can tell) there is no kind of wet blending involved. They just paint on the colour and it just looks like it automatically blends in the edges. My own attempts at blending just leaves a strong colour in the middle and a weak colour at the edges where brush strokes are clearly visible.

I'm using a mix of colour, water and glaze medium like the tutorial suggested. (But probably in wrong proportions, although I somewhat doubt it would improve the result drastically anway)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply :)

The layer before the wast sounds pretty good actually, although I guess the price would be a darker end-result?

Do you think this is an issue with my brush technique, or simply a result of trying to layer colours that are too different from the base?

·