Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm OK with figuring out something like 4 lascannon shots on a unit within a void shield, but have questions regarding something like a S10 large blast that hits 4 models under a void shield.

Does that count as 1 hit on the void shield or up to 4 hits? In order for the void shield to start taking hits for the unit it has to have first been "hit" by the large blast, which would be 4 hits. Is it that simple since the unit first needs to get hit before the void shield does anything? or are people going with the fluffy thing where the shell hasn't hit yet so only counts once? or what?

Really only looking for RAW on this since opinions aren't really relevant. If it is really 4 hits then void shields don't really seem to be that good at all, especially since normal buildings can only buy a total of 1 void shield.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,146 Posts
It's one hit on the Void Shield.
You've only hit it once.

If it helps you to visualise it, think of throwing a grenade at a target Unit.
Now place a sheet of glass in between.
Your grenade might well cause five wounds on your target Unit, but it only has one chance to break the glass.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
A hit on the target is instead a hit on the void shield, but by the time you have determined that the target was hit you have 4 hits (since you cannot hit the target without placing the large blast marker and determining that it is actually 4 hits). That is the part I am hung up on. It is like you are going backwards in steps, and the rules for void shields don't really ever sound like you directly attack them but instead kind of Look Out Sir the hits to the shield and you have 4 hits, not just the 1.

The way you say it it is probably more balanced from a gameplay point of view, but the example doesn't really help since there are many rules in the game that don't match what would happen irl, fluffy, laws of physics, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
It seems that the general consensus online is that it only hits the shield once. Pssyche has it right, but if you want to play it that way just be sure your opponent knows.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Can't say I really "care", it was mostly something that seemed weird about the rule. If I don't argue on one side then there wouldn't really be a question/discussion.
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top