Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know the subject might be off, but it kind of represents what I wanna ask....

If I were to destroy a vehicle with a tank, using weapon number one, would I be able to use weapons number 2 and 3+ on the troops that are required to disembark? This question came up the other night and I wasn't sure, so we played that the shots were on the vehicle and you couldn't hit the troops yet.

I guess if you think about it, it would be nice to run a land speeder up and mutli-melta the vehicle while the heavy flamer burns out whoever pops out of it. Just looking for clarity is all. :biggrin:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
328 Posts
I think (NOT SURE) that if it is a dedicated transport then you can shoot at the squad because they are considered in the same squad, but not for non-dedicated like Land Raiders. Again, I'm not 100% about it.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Nope. ALL shooting from the squad is done at the same time regardless of what order you roll it in. If weapon 1 destroys the vehicle, you can't use the rest of the weapons to shoot the passengers as they have ALL shot at the vehicle already, regardless of whether you used the actual shots or not. Think of it this way, until the shooting of that squad is finished, the passengers are not outside the vehicle to be shot at until that units shooting is done.

You CAN however shoot the passengers with a different squad with no problems.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yep... I concur with Wraithlord on this. No splitting shots no matter what the case. That would kinda be like a devastator squad using 1 missle/las to destroy a vehicle and the rest of its shots at the squad that disembarked. Not happenin.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ok, thats what I thought but I just wanted to make sure...

Long fangs can do it though, because of their split firing though. :( Wish I could....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
Long fangs can do it though, because of their split firing though. :( Wish I could....
Uh no. Just because they can shoot 2 differewnt targets doesnt mean they fire one after another. They still follow the same firing sequence just they can engage multiple targets.
So as the embarked squad are not a viable target for the shooting when you are choosing targets (due to being in a vehicle) you cant shoot them.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Yes the long fang rules do state that they declare which models will shoot at which targets before you actually start rolling for shots so in theory theres no way you can shoot at the models disembarking from a vehicle destroyed by a LF previous shot.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
What you can do though (i hope) is say if u hit it with a las(weapon 1) and destroyed it but still had say 2 more las's to shoot at it still go through all the shooting process as you may get a better roll on a penetrating table so more likely to wound the guys in/around it OR (now this im not sure about) if I have 3 penetrating hits on a vehicle and get three 6's do these stack up for how many times my opponent has to roll to see who is wounded and the range or each explosion etc?? or not?
Because if you destroy a vehicle with your 1st roll but still have say 3 other units that you had declared to shoot at it wouldn't it be start to keep shooting at it in the hopes of blowing it up more to waste everything in and around it?

Hope im right because i wasted 4 of my brothers terminators yesterday in his land raider by doing that and he'll be pist if he finds out i wasnt aloud to mahahaha
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
Hope im right because i wasted 4 of my brothers terminators yesterday in his land raider by doing that and he'll be pist if he finds out i wasnt aloud to mahahaha
What is generally done in the case that multiple 6's are rolled is that you determine which has the largest radius & apply that result (or atleast thats how we have always done it!)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
What you can do though (i hope) is say if u hit it with a las(weapon 1) and destroyed it but still had say 2 more las's to shoot at it still go through all the shooting process as you may get a better roll on a penetrating table so more likely to wound the guys in/around it OR (now this im not sure about) if I have 3 penetrating hits on a vehicle and get three 6's do these stack up for how many times my opponent has to roll to see who is wounded and the range or each explosion etc?? or not?
Because if you destroy a vehicle with your 1st roll but still have say 3 other units that you had declared to shoot at it wouldn't it be start to keep shooting at it in the hopes of blowing it up more to waste everything in and around it?

Hope im right because i wasted 4 of my brothers terminators yesterday in his land raider by doing that and he'll be pist if he finds out i wasnt aloud to mahahaha
Yes, you can keep firing at a vehicle with the same squad to get a better destroyed result, but you still only apply one. So, if you got three sixes, only apply one of them. The vehicle only blows up once.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Yes, you can keep firing at a vehicle with the same squad to get a better destroyed result, but you still only apply one. So, if you got three sixes, only apply one of them. The vehicle only blows up once.
yes but shouldnt i be able to roll 3 dice to see how big the radius of the explosion is and pick the highest roll??

and on page 68 of the rule book under ENTANGLED it say
"Once disembarked, passengers may be shot at by subsequent firing units and may be assasulted as normal."

what does "shot at by subsequent firing" mean?? I take it means in your next turn but isnt that pretty clear so why mention it?
 

·
The Traveler
Joined
·
2,559 Posts
I think it means other units can shoot them, or that the unit that blew the vehicle to shreds can fire any reamaining weapondry at them.

-Dirge
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
are you sure, because doesnt that kinda contradict what was established at the start of this thread by wraithlord??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
107 Posts
yes but shouldnt i be able to roll 3 dice to see how big the radius of the explosion is and pick the highest roll??
Sure.

and on page 68 of the rule book under ENTANGLED it say
"Once disembarked, passengers may be shot at by subsequent firing units and may be assasulted as normal."

what does "shot at by subsequent firing" mean?? I take it means in your next turn but isnt that pretty clear so why mention it?
You italicized one word too few. It reads, "shot at by subsequent firing units." Meaning units that fire later in that same phase may choose to fire at the squad that disembarked from that vehicle.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
The explosion only happens once, not 3 times as in your example so you only roll 1 die, not 3.

Shot at by subsequent firing units refers to exactly what I stated above: the remaining units that have not fired for that Shooting Phase are allowed to target the passengers. The unit that destroyed the vehicle may not as all their shots count as having hit the vehicle.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,988 Posts
It's really an issue of targetting.

The vehicle and the squad inside are seperate units. You can't split your fire between units unless there is some special rule in effect. You couldn't have your dev squad fire at a rhino and a squad if the squad were outside the tank, so you can't do it if they start out inside the tank.

In addition, you pick a target before you fire. When you come to pick a target the squad is not on the table, so you can't pick it as a target even if you have long fangs or something.

However this target selection is done one unit at a time in your shooting phase (talking about your units now). So if you nail a rhino at the start you may have other units that can pick the squad who fell out as a target.

Speaking tactically for a moment you will often find that units who fall out of tanks aren't top priority targets anyway. They are entangled in sight of your devs, after all.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Sorry for some reason my little group of friends and I have been playing that you declare all your targets before you start rolling to hit etc, not sure where we got this from but it was why I was having a little bit of confusion with this topic.

All sorted now (slaps self on forehead) lol.
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top