Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,242 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's a question, what would happen if I gave a model a Chainsword and a Powerweapon?

Would some of my attacks ignore armour saves, and others not? Or would the Chainsword give my Powerweapon extra attacks?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
It's in the rulebook pg 42.

basically +1 A, all of which are powerweapon attacks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,340 Posts
if i remember rightly you wouldnt get any bonus attacks as the model isnt using the same weapon, to get the bonus attack youd have to be wielding 2 power weapons,
i havent got the rule book at hand so i maybe wrong, but im going on what its like for lightening claws
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,090 Posts
basicaly the chais sword acts as a bolt pistol it gives you 1 extra attack but all of your swings count as power weapon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
594 Posts
You will get +1 A with the Power Weapon.

The whole "must be using 2 of the same weapon" only applies to Lightening Claws/Power Fists/Thunder Hammers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,083 Posts
Power weapons are the only exception to the rule, and a second CCW (chain sword, pistol, chain axe, non "power weapons") would count to giving the power weapon +1 attack. though why you would replace any kind of ranged weapon instead of the CCW itsself is beyond me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
252 Posts
Power weapons are the only exception to the rule, and a second CCW (chain sword, pistol, chain axe, non "power weapons") would count to giving the power weapon +1 attack. though why you would replace any kind of ranged weapon instead of the CCW itsself is beyond me.
Aesthetics?
I did it with my White-Scar librarian, in the sure and certain knowledge that he would be using his psychic powers in the shooting phase anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
795 Posts
Yeah if you were making some crazed close combat guy who lives only to kill in close combat I don't see why you wouldn't, plus the CCW is free.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Power weapons are the only exception to the rule,
Actually, any one-handed special close combat weapon would allow this, not just power weapons. The big three (Powerfists, Lightning Claws, Thunder Hammers) are the exceptions with a special rule requiring two of the same.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
A Chainsword is just a regular CC weapon, just like a pistol of any kind, or a knife, or your rifle butt.
Only those special weapons (LC, PF, TH) have that exception.
However, if you have more than one different type of Special Weapon (a Power Weapon and a Poisoned Weapon for example), then you can NEVER benefit from having 2 Close Combat Weapons.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top