Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
268 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wondering if someone can iron this out for me please....

15 marines behind an Aegis and one of them manned the quad gun to intercept an enemy flyer.

On my next shooting turn I wanted to use the same 15 marines to shoot at an infantry target.

My opponent didn't think I could as you can't shoot at 2 different targets without split fire. I suggested this was a separate phase.

I thought you could as the interceptor rule only relates to the weapon and says they can shoot another weapon on their turn.

Any thoughts? Thanks, Jon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
129 Posts
Can't see anything that would stop you shooting the infantry target. The limitation on how many targets you can shoot specifically refers to phases, though witchfires (psychic phase) have an exception in that they can target as many things as they have powers to cast, and overwatch (assault phase) specifically states it can only be done once per phase.

As far as I'm aware the only attacks that happen in the movement phase are interceptors, vector strikes and bombs. All of the above count as a weapon being fired, which generally means they're an "early" attack rather than a "free" attack.

As none of my interceptor units (stalkers) have another weapon to fire, it's not a situation I've come across before, but it seems pretty ludicrous to imply it takes 15 blokes to man a quad gun.
 
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
Top