Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
312 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an upcoming Mighty Empires Campaign. I have not chosen my army as of yet. The choices are Lizardmen (my primary army) and Ogre Kingdoms (secondary army). I am split on which one to take for the campaign. I know that the Lizardmen army is more suited to 8th edition. But I do like the Ogre Kingdoms army because no one else really plays them in our gaming group. I do worry about losing alot with Ogres (as I am still learning to play them).

The other armies that will be in the campaign are:
Dark Elves
High Elves x 2
Skaven x 2
and My army.

What do you guys think?

Right now I would like to use the Ogres, but I really like the magic that I can bring as lizardmen.

·
Registered
564 Posts
to be honest, if you want to do the ogres, do them - sure they may not be as competitive as you can make the lizardmen, but this campaign may help you develop them with consistant use against some tugh armies.

·
WFB Moderator
8,248 Posts
Ogres can be a good army, and they are a lot simpler to play then they use to be... they're still fun anyway. Their magic has taken a bit of a nosedive though, mostly due tot he enemy being able to dispel RiP in your magic phase (so if you raise defences turn 1 and charge turn 2 the enemy can let the all thorugh in turn 1, wait for you to waste dice turn 2 then just dispel them all. Im learning to just re-cast magic at units which alrady have the same buff- if they are let through they cannot be dispelled at the end of the phase, and if they are dispelled hopefully the opponent wont have the dice to dispel the original RiP from a previous turn.

·
Registered
1,697 Posts
While ogres have had some improvements with the new edition their weaknesses will be made glaringly obvious when fighting against the opponents that you've listed.