Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
74 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK i brought the black reach set and the hobby starter set, i was wondering the best way to paint them with the colours i have. also if anyone could give me any tips on painting them it would be greatly appreciated as this is my first time painting mini's.

Cheers

·
Premium Member
500 Posts
Well I'm not a great painter, none of my models are highlighted so they're literally painted UM Blue, Green shoulder trims (for the 4th Company), the gaps in the armour (back of legs etc) are black, red eyes (except for my red helmeted sgts who have green eyes) weapons are mix of Boltgun Metal and Chaos Black then the littler things like purity seals are scab red and a white/tan mix.

So my models look nowhere near as good as some of the fantasic work showed on this part of the forums but for my skill level I'd rather have some consistently average looking models rather than doing a terrible job of going into uber detail with them.

·
Registered
92 Posts
first skull white or chaos black under coat (imo)
then UM blue, hightlight with a mix of UM blue/skull white 70/30 then add more skull white to the mix. thats highlights finished.

then the shoulder trim is dependent on the company you want, 2nd company gold, 3rd comp red, 4th green ect. boltgun you should drybrush boltgun metal over chaos black aswell as other metal bits air vents ect. then the purity seals, red at the top then a mix of bleached bone and white at the bottom. eye lenses blood red.

if you have a steady hand paint squad markings on by hand or use transfers

sorry if i left any thing out.

·
Registered
92 Posts
for your next purchase, SM battleforce £50 which is not bad for 1 tactical squad, 1 5man scout squad, a rhino, 5man assault squad and a combat squad.

also post some pics when you have finished. Rep+ for you

·
Drinker of tea...
2,277 Posts