Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a pretty new 40k player and had a question about reserves. Can i start my whole army in reserve? I searched the forums but most of the posts were a few years ago so i wanted to clarify if i can. At my local shop a player there says i need to start with 1 HQ and 2 troops on the field. If someone could help me clarify this that would be great ^^
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
You're not compelled to deploy any forces, and can hold your entire army in reserve if you wish.

This may change if you play non-standard missions (if you use the Battle Missions book, for instance).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
you may have been playing a Dawn of War deployment senario which requires you to set up 1 HQ and 2 Troops at the start of the game and everything else in your army in reserves

be careful with placing your entire army in resrves... i rememeber seeing a picture.. it was so epic...

a Space marine playing placed his entire army in reserves, his opponant was plaung Tau and was infiltrating his Kroot

so he lined up his kroot 2" apart across the SM players entire table edge and won the game since the SM player could never deploy anything :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
Blocking reserve entry would only win the game if you were playing objective games. In kill point games it would force a draw because the reserved units are just delayed and not destroyed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
Blocking reserve entry would only win the game if you were playing objective games. In kill point games it would force a draw because the reserved units are just delayed and not destroyed.
the important thing is you dont lose :D and you lost no models during your not-loss

therefor you win at 40k

you opponant does not because he didnt even get to deploy
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,461 Posts
Blocking reserve entry would only win the game if you were playing objective games. In kill point games it would force a draw because the reserved units are just delayed and not destroyed.
While you are correct in that they are delayed and not destroyed, your conclusion is wrong. Page 95 of the rulebook. Any units in reserves at the end of the game are treated as destroyed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
While you are correct in that they are delayed and not destroyed, your conclusion is wrong. Page 95 of the rulebook. Any units in reserves at the end of the game are treated as destroyed.
It doesn't actually say that anywhere. Only deep striking units that roll delayed on the mishap table are destroyed if the game ends - it's a very specific chain of events. There is no general rule that would cause other reserves units to be destroyed anywhere in the rules.

Besides, the game can't technically end at all, as the play must bring his units onto the table, but cannot because his path is blocked. As such, game just falls into a rules hole, and gets eaten by a grue as soon as you roll reserves, and can't bring them on. You have to house rule it one way or the other.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
It doesn't actually say that anywhere. Only deep striking units that roll delayed on the mishap table are destroyed if the game ends - it's a very specific chain of events. There is no general rule that would cause other reserves units to be destroyed anywhere in the rules.

Besides, the game can't technically end at all, as the play must bring his units onto the table, but cannot because his path is blocked. As such, game just falls into a rules hole, and gets eaten by a grue as soon as you roll reserves, and can't bring them on. You have to house rule it one way or the other.
However, Warhammer is not exactly a precise ruleset, like Magic the Gathering, so black holes of rules can't really happen as you can always just sidestep it :>
The most logical thing to happen here is what Wolf said, treat it as though Deep Strikers had been delayed till the end of the game, since the rules work in pretty much the same way.

I don't even know where the conclusion that they get 'delayed' in this instance came from, but it's more sensible than the unit going:
OH SHIT OH SHIT, THERE ARE ENEMIES IN THE WAY, WE CAN'T REACH THE HUGE RECTANGLE OF BATTLE!
OH FUCK, WHAT DO WE DO?

Suicide sounds appropriate...
:scratchhead:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
When the game ends, if you have no units on the table, you lose regardless of victory or kill points.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
803 Posts
Once you roll your manditory (meaning you can't decide not to take the roll) reserve rolls and pass them, but cannot legally place the models on the board, do they not count as destroyed? A similar situation would be when you roll for deepstriking; any models that cannot fit in the deepstrike zone are destroyed. Or for outflanking; any models that cannot fit into the area you have decided to bring them in at are destroyed. Unfortunately I'm at work and can't provide specific references, but this is my understanding of these situations, all of which fall under reserves. Another situation would be disembarking from a transport; any models that cannot be placed on the board within 2" of a hatch are destroyed. Can you think of any situation where models must be placed legally on the board, and if this action is not possible, that said models are not destroyed? If you can't think of one situation that this is the case, I would say every situation encountered when trying to bring in reserves would follow this line of thinking.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Once you roll your manditory (meaning you can't decide not to take the roll) reserve rolls and pass them, but cannot legally place the models on the board, do they not count as destroyed? A similar situation would be when you roll for deepstriking; any models that cannot fit in the deepstrike zone are destroyed.
? If you cannot place a model in a deepstriking unit, the entire unit suffers a mishap. There is no 'partial' for deep striking units.

Or for outflanking; any models that cannot fit into the area you have decided to bring them in at are destroyed.
Same here, the unit either arrives or doesn't, no partials. Unfortunately, this one is less clear in the rules and GW has not told us what happens when a unit is unable to enter (walk on) the table from Reserves. IMO, the unit is destroyed, but that's based on an old old FAQ regarding what happens to Space Wolf Scouts being unable to enter from the back table edge using OBEL due to an enemy picket fence. Unfortunately, that's not part of the current FAQs and we have no 'official' answer from GW on what happens.

Unfortunately I'm at work and can't provide specific references, but this is my understanding of these situations, all of which fall under reserves. Another situation would be disembarking from a transport; any models that cannot be placed on the board within 2" of a hatch are destroyed. Can you think of any situation where models must be placed legally on the board, and if this action is not possible, that said models are not destroyed? If you can't think of one situation that this is the case, I would say every situation encountered when trying to bring in reserves would follow this line of thinking.
Nope, cannot think of one situation other than the destroyed transport example you give where part of a unit can be deployed. Yet another reason that I'm in the camp saying that a unit unable to enter from Reserves is destroyed.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top