Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This actually happened tonight:

Hive Tyrant used Leach Essence on an enemy squad and rolled double 1's. The Perils of the warp took his last wound away killing him. The Leach Essence still went off and killed a marine.

Does the Hive Tyrant get back up and dust himself off, or is there a rule somewhere that says "dead is dead"?





I remember two editions ago, Old One Eye could come back from the dead, and currently Necrons and the SoB Special Character can, back how about a Tyrant?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,523 Posts
Those would be special rules.
I think that Remove Casualties on page 24 applies and Multiple -Wound Models page 26. It is referenced in the Assault removing casualties

On page 26, it says,"Once the model has lost all of its Wounds, it is removed as a casualty."
On page 24, it says,"....removed from the table as a casualty." In this case it refers to single wound models, but the language is similar enough and this is the explanation for removing casualties.

As of the peril of the warps double 1 rule, the psychic ability goes off, but due to 26, there is no longer a model to receive the wounds because it has been removed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
Loki is right, The Perils will kill you before you resolve the Leach Essence. Once you're dead you're dead. Theres a good argument for the Leach Essence itself to fizzle.

Aramoro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,523 Posts
Loki is right, The Perils will kill you before you resolve the Leach Essence. Once you're dead you're dead. Theres a good argument for the Leach Essence itself to fizzle.

Aramoro
Not sure I agree. Check page 50 Perils and page 62 Leech Essence. I don't really see any way to justify a fizzle rules wise.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
I'd say the Tyrant dies due to Perils, but Leech Essence still goes off.

Leech Essence might inflict some wounds, but won't restore any wounds to the dead Tyrant.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
teh hive tyrants face ker-splodes as be gegins to leach the minds of these people

their minds go ker-splode as well and they disolve into a puddle of goo and so does your tyrants face

thats teh just of it
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
I dont really know how this one should be played- the rules dont really support either. But there really are only 2 options.

1- The perils and the power happen simaltaneously, the tyrant takes a wound but gets 1 back at the same time... he's still alive.

2- The perils happens before the power happens, the tyrant dies and so the power can no longer happen: dead models cannot use psychic powers. This would pretty much be the psychic equivalent of a plasma cannon overheating...
Fluff wise the tyrant would try the power and get something of an overload that since he's already wounded he wouldn't have the strength to control. He would die and the raw psychic power would be undirected... causing some serious issues to all those close by the doomed tyrant.
 

·
Jeep's and Harley's
Joined
·
1,997 Posts
This is how I would play it. The power goes off because according to the BRB pg 50 it says the power still works even of the psyker is killed. So it would force the marines to take their test. The Tyrant had to be removed as it had no wounds left and was therefore ineligible to gain any wounds back from the LE.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
The Peril of the Warp rules specifically allow a roll to both kill a psyker and cast the power.

You make your Leadership test to use your power, and then resolve it.
The Tyrant dies at the first stage, the Leadership roll.
The power then resolves, but has no caster to give wounds back to.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,523 Posts
I dont really know how this one should be played- the rules dont really support either. But there really are only 2 options.

1- The perils and the power happen simaltaneously, the tyrant takes a wound but gets 1 back at the same time... he's still alive.

2- The perils happens before the power happens, the tyrant dies and so the power can no longer happen: dead models cannot use psychic powers. This would pretty much be the psychic equivalent of a plasma cannon overheating...
Fluff wise the tyrant would try the power and get something of an overload that since he's already wounded he wouldn't have the strength to control. He would die and the raw psychic power would be undirected... causing some serious issues to all those close by the doomed tyrant.
The rules do support it.

]Page 50 of the rule book: A psyker who rolls double 1 will still use his power, even if he is wounded or killed as a result.

Multiple-Wound Models page 26: Once the model has lost all of its Wounds, it is removed as a casualty.

Remove Casualties on page 24:....removed from the table as a casualty.

Basically, the warp kills the psyker, the power goes off after the model is removed from the table, it effects the unit hit, and the final part of the power does not occur as there is no longer a model on the table to receive the extra health.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
from what i have seen/read in the rule book and on here i think the best beat is to say that he dies due to perils of the Warp but you can still kill the marine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,864 Posts
I would agree with that-the perils kills off the tyrant but the power can still kill the marine but the tyrant does not regain any wounds since it is dead.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top