Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to the world of Warhammer and have been collecting and playing (in the loosest possible terms) a Tyranid army - they just seemed the most fun!

I have a query about cover on Monstrous Creatures as I'm a bit unsure - ie. short of being behind a building that covers 50% of their bodies, can they get one? I've read that MCs can get a cover save from a units, such as gargoyles, but not sure how this would work in practice, or if you can get a cover save from anything else...

Also, Raveners - is there a place for these in anything below 2000 points? (2k is generally the maximum I play at the moment).

Any help would be much appreciated!

Cheers

·
Registered
232 Posts
Just like infantry of normal size a MC needs 50% of its body out of LoS to gain a cover save. You can get this anyway you can, hiding it behind a building as you said, behind warriors (i think they can with some clever positioning ect). Also don't forget the ol venomthrope.

As for the Raveners, anything can be used it just takes time to learn how to use a unit correctly, however compared to other stuff in the codex Raveners are a bit lack luster. They can be used, but other stuff is easier to learn.

·
Super Moderator
10,978 Posts
Yah, an MC has to be at least 50% obscured to gain cover. Easier just to use a venomthrope as panzerpig said.

Raveners are pretty straightforward to use, and very effective. Considering your other FA options, I think Raveners are the way to go. In less than 2k, probably go for a brood of 5-6, as the three you get in the box doesn`t form an effective unit. :)

·
Registered
3,648 Posts
Infantry get a cover save if 50%+ of the unit is in area cover, or obscured, or if other units are in between. How visible does not matter with regard to intervening units.

·
Registered
28 Posts