Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I want to give one of my carnifexes 2 barbed stranglers and fire them as different weapons (and not as twin-linked).

Question is, can I do that or does 2 weapons of the same always count as twin-linked? :?

Please share your thoughts :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
I dont know about 'Nids and their options.

And that is a great question--"do 2 weapons of the same always count as twin-linked?"

Sorry, i cant really answer. Personally, id let you do it. As long as you paid for the two as two, and not one twin-linked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,445 Posts
"do 2 weapons of the same always count as twin-linked?"
I would say no, as you can give a leman russ two (nay, three if you're up to it) heavy bolters and fire them indepentently. I've always just assumed that two weapons don't count as twin-linked unless it says so in the profile. *shrugs*

Anph is right though, let's wait for some foul xenos... i mean tyranid players to get here and clarify. :wink:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
That is a good way to put it Cadian, i didnt think of that.

It reminded me of putting say, two fusion blasters on a Tau crisis suit or something, yeah know?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,648 Posts
For TMCs, two of the same weapon always counts as twin-linked. The Codex does not allow otherwise. It's a shame really.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Unfortunately, it pretty explicitly says that multiple weapons given to a Tyranid monstrous creature count as twin linked. That being said, a Carnifex has a piss-poor ballistic skill, and even with Enhanced Senses, it'll benefit greatly from having such a big gun be twin-linked.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
I stand corrected, found that rule in the codex.
Just will have to figure something else out :)

Thanks for the help.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
999 Posts
I find a lot of people, including myself, usually go with a venom cannon and a barbed strangler. The VC can really hurt enemy tanks, and the BS can really hurt squads or tanks.

The VC, though it cannot pen., will almost always glance (because on the carnifex it's S 10), and that is a lot of rolls on the glancing chart.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
95 Posts
Actually the wording in the Tyranid codex on page 30, while directly after the Monstrous creature information seems to imply that ANY Tyranid wielding two of the same ranged weapon counts them as twin-linked. So Tyranid Warriors for example could wield two Deathspitters and use it as one twin-linked weapon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
232 Posts
It actually states it explicitly on page 30, "A Tyranid that carries two of the same ranged weapon symbiote counts them as twin-linked."
As Ghostbear says, that allows Warriors sort of a loophole around the 'only shoot one ranged weapon per turn' rule.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top