Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
transports can only carry one infantry unit, so if you split up a tactical squad into two 5 man squads can you still carry both squads in it still? Could you carry a 10 man tactical squad and 5 man squad of legion of the damned in a land raider crusader? Its one infanrty and one elite so i would think so but i'm unsure. thanks for any help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
If it fits the transport capacity, and no banned gear(termie armor, ogryns, etc) applies, then I don't see why not...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
Hurmph. Didn't know that. Nothing like that ever came up, but I always assumed you can fill a transport to capacity...
What transports can fit multiple units?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
312 Posts
Page 66 of the Rulebook: "A transport may carry a single infantry unit.."

Page 23 Blood Angels Codex: " The decision to split the unit into combat squads... must be made when the unit is deployed.

If you decide to split a unit into combat squads, then each combat squad is treated as a seperate unit for all game purposes from that point."

So no. The only exception is a drop pod apparently. :victory:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,934 Posts
Hurmph. Didn't know that. Nothing like that ever came up, but I always assumed you can fill a transport to capacity...
What transports can fit multiple units?
Mainly stuff in Apocalypse, but the Storm Raven can transport a unit and a dreadnought which is the only transport in standard 40k that I can think of.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanks for the help! what force organizational slot does a transport take up if you don't take it as a dedicated transport?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
324 Posts
from what you wrote, it seems you're confusing two ways of classifying units. 'Infantry' is a unit type together with 'cavalry', 'beasts', 'Monstrous Creatures', 'jetbikes', and so on. It has nothing to do with which FOC slot it's in. Troops, elites, HQ, fast attack, and HS are FOC types. So for example you can have troop infantry, like tactical squads, or elite infantry, like terminators, and on the other hand you can have bike troops, as in space marine bikers, or fast attack cavalry, such as rough riders.


In any case, a transport can never take more than one unit at a time, and if you split a tactical squad into combat squads they are counted as 2 different units when they are deployed.

43
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
thanks for the help! what force organizational slot does a transport take up if you don't take it as a dedicated transport?
unless its actualy listed under a section in the codex (IE a land raider) transports may only be taken as dedicated (Rhinos and Razorbacks, Etc)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
1 unit only. Otherwise Cussaders would be even more bad ass. You can still attach IC's to them tho.
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top