Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
transport disembarking, ok i did a search but couldn't find the answer i was looking for but i'm sure it must be up on here please direct me to it if you know where it is.

I'm reading the rules under disembarking on page 79 BRB

it says:-

Disembarking
A unit that begins its movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark
either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot etc) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".

now page 71 of the BRB says:-

a vehicle that only pivots on the spot in the movement phase counts as stationary.


Therefore I would like to know

Is the meaning that if I only pivot before disembarking the pivot then counts as movement and I cant move that vehicle any further in the movement phase.

Or

Is the meaning that if i only pivot before disembarking it doesn't count as movement and I can then disembark the unit and then after move the vehicle as normal.

Thanks
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
You can't pivot, disembark then move.

A pivot is clearly a move and the P79 rules say you can't move any further if you move before disembarking troops. The P71 rule isn't saying that pivotting does not count as a move, its saying that its ignored if the only move you have made is a pivot (ie pivoting doesn't detract from shooting).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
398 Posts
The vehicle could flat out move in the shooting phase though.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok well thats as i thought shame as eldar have exit at rear but never mind. sure i can work out tactics with two jumping over each other and leap frogging.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
The vehicle could flat out move in the shooting phase though.
incorrect
pg 79BRB "rfthe vehicle had already
moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move
further (including pivoting on the spot)

so it cannot flat out
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
From the rules i think if the unit disembarks from the vehicle after it has moved you can't flat out.

If it didn't move or it only pivoted in can still flat out.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
7,889 Posts
incorrect
pg 79BRB "rfthe vehicle had already
moved before the unit disembarked, the vehicle cannot move
further (including pivoting on the spot)

so it cannot flat out
I'm not so sure. The vehicle could have pivoted but that doesn't count as moving so the vehicle hasn't moved before the unit disembarked, it has ended it's movement phase tho'.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jam123456

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,755 Posts
I'm not so sure. The vehicle could have pivoted but that doesn't count as moving so the vehicle hasn't moved before the unit disembarked, it has ended it's movement phase tho'.
well mags, i see it this way, if you wish to move your vehicle or simply "pivot" then you choose to do another action with another unit you would have "finished" movement with the vehicle,yes i know pivoting is not a movement but in this case it is clearly counted as one,so i cant see how you can "pivot" then disembark a unit the move the tank then flat out, i think that's stretching it a bit. i think it s quite clear, you have to make a choice either to
a: disembark-then the tanks cant flat out - as it "cant move further"
b: move the tank and flat out

i look at it this way, like chess once you taken your hand off the piece that's it finished.
 

·
WFB Moderator
Joined
·
8,248 Posts
You can turbo boost if you pivot before disembarking. The rule on P71 means that at the end of the moving phase you count as being stationary through the movement phase if you only pivot.... so by the time you turbo boost you "didn't" move before disembarking. As this kicks in at the end of the movement phase that doesn't allow you to do a standard move after disembark.


Of course there is the counter argument that you haven't "only" pivoted as you've also disembarked a unit... to me that's an action for the unit not the transport but if someone wants to split hairs and argue there's not a lot I can see to prove it one way or other.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
i would agree with mags and tim/steve on this.

pivot isn't movement so i think it probably needs a FAQ update to clarify for sure however i read it as if the unit disembarks from the vehicle after it has moved you can't flat out.
If it didn't move or it only pivoted before disembarkation in can still flat out. the disembarking is movement by the unit in the transport not the transport.
still not worth taking star engines on eldar.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)
i feel this needs a question to GW faq's. will look on their web page to see where to send it. If we have mixed ideas of the rules then other must too and i would like to get a proper rule that i know is correct because however much i would like to play the rules to my advantage ( i like a good argument and informed debate) i would not like to be seen as cheating or have others think i'm taking advantage in any way. and the rules should set a level playing field.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top