Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,056 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have a friend who wants to start collecting marines (Iron Hands)
I was wondering what he should buy to get started?

I have no knowledge of marines when it comes to knowing what their advantages are, I only really know how to bring my Berserkers axes to the necks.

·
Registered
78 Posts
I would say a good starter would be 2 tac squads, a HQ of his choice, a Land speeder, and perhaps a Predator tank. In that order as well. That will give me a basic starting force to build from all they will likely all be units he will continue to use so long as he plays marines.

·
Premium Member
2,512 Posts
if you can afford it, pick up the battle company box. it sets you up for an amazing army. if you order tank sprues, you can change the rhinos to other tanks at little cost.

otherwise get the army or battleforce box, they save you money in the long run.

·
Inquisitor
963 Posts
I would say 2 Tactical squads, a Chappy and a Libby, and the new plastic devastor squad + a combat squad box, and a box of Space wolf blood claws.

With the new influence of Psychic powers the use of psychic hoods by the Librarians are almost a requirement. When you put the Blood Claws together you can use them as a command squad with CCW/BP, Veterans, or Assualt Marines w/o jump packs. This is a great squad to join your Chaplian to. The 2 Tactical squads will give you a nice group of 20 marines to give you either 4 small or 2 large squads. The new plastic devastor box comes with enough parts to make 8 heavy weapons but only enough marines for 4 + a Sgt. The extra combat squad will allow you to build ALL the Heavy Weapons. Now if you buy a Tactical squad instead of Combat squad you will be able to build all the special weapons from all the other tactical squads and the blood claw box you buy.