Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need someone to confirm my reading. i recently acquired a thunderfire cannon. It's heavy 4 blast, in the codex it says each thunderfire cannon shell can be fused for surface detonation, airburst or subterranean blast. so can i fire a different shell for each blast or do i have to use only one kind of shell when shooting? Also whats a good way to protect this fragile beast?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,979 Posts
You declare what type of "fuse" you want before you fire. Air burst, surface or subterranean.

Good luck keeping those things "alive" through the course of a game. They go ka-boom very quickly due to the poop rules for artillery and it not being able to use indirect fire.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
No, Only one type of shell may be used (i.e surface for all four). I had the same idea but nay, tis not allowed.

As stated above, putting it into a bolstered ruin or bunker is a good idea. An alternative is to get some devastators to give it an 50% obscure cover save.

Hoped this helped!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Putting it on a ruin won't help much. Since the cannons is considered a vehicle and needs to be 50% hidden to have a cover bonus.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,166 Posts
Cannon is a vehicle but it forms a unit with the Techpriest, and he's concealed, so 50% of the unit is concealed.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top