Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Heeeello,
So for a few Maelstrom games I need a fun 500pts Ork list to play. Hopefully a rather good one as well, since some of my opponents like to get competitive.
Which one do you prefer and why? Which one is the worst? I'm grateful for any feedback.

LIST 1 (Basic List):

HQ:
Mek (No Upgrades)

Troops:
12x Slugga Boyz in Trukk w/ Ram, Nob with Boss Pole and Power Klaw

12x Slugga Boyz in Trukk w/ Ram, Nob with Boss Pole and Power Klaw

Fast Attack:
1x Deffkopta (No Upgrades, objective grabber)

Elites:
3x Meganobz in Trukk w/ Ram, Boss Pole on Boss Nob

Total: 499pts


LIST 2 (More Meganobz, this one feels a bit iffy):

HQ:
Mek (No Upgrades)

Troops:
10x Slugga Boyz in Trukk w/ Ram, Nob with Boss Pole and Power Klaw

10x Grots plus Runt Herd

Elites:
3x Meganobz in Trukk w/ Ram, Boss Pole on Boss Nob

Elites:
3x Meganobz in Trukk w/ Ram,

Total: 500pts


LIST 3 (Looted Wagons):

HQ:
Mek (No Upgrades)

Troops:
12x Slugga Boyz in Trukk w/ Ram, Nob with Boss Pole and Power Klaw

11x Grots plus Runt Herd

Elites:
3x Meganobz in Trukk w/ Ram

Heavy Support:
Looted Wagon with Killkannon and a Rokkit Launcha

Looted Wagon with Killkannon and a Rokkit Launcha

Total: 499pts

Thanks in advance :)
 

· Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Problem with all three of them is that a mek is not a true HQ choice. You have to have one of the other HQ choices to unlock the ability to use them.
I beg to differ :p
This is the wording of the rule I think you are referring to:

''Mekaniaks: For each HQ choice in a Detachment (not including other Meks) you may include a single Mek chosen from this datasheet. These selections do not use up Force Organisation slots.''

This does not in any way preclude you from taking a Mek without unlocking it with another HQ. It simply says that for each other HQ you bring you can have an ''extra'' Mek that doesn't take up an HQ slot.
Or am I missing something?
 

· Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah, I did some googling and it seems a lot people have different interpretations of the rule :/ The 1d4chan wiki does however agree with you...

Anyway, the plan is to dump him behind the Meganobz unit for protection or maybe with grots hiding far back on an objective.
 

· Registered
Joined
·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I think I agree with what you say, morfangdakka. The four vehicles in List 3 should force the opponent to prioritize where to fire his anti-tank leading to that most should get close and do damage. The only slightly impractical thing is the combination of Orky BS 2, Large blasts and close combat units... I dont want to shoot my own guys! But it should be avoidable.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top