Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,083 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To be specific: assaulting out of a drop pod. Why is this not possible? Can someone show me where it says you can NOT assault out of a drop pod? Ultimately I ended up thinking of these things while reading up on "open-topped" vehicles Since I will be starting Dark Eldar soon. You can assault out of open topped Vehicles. a drop pod is an open topped vehicle.

I am just curious as to others thoughts on this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
You can't assault on the turn you deep strike. This applys to BA Landraiders as well whihc cna deep strike and have assault ramps
 

·
Jeepers
Joined
·
1,354 Posts
To be specific: assaulting out of a drop pod. Why is this not possible? Can someone show me where it says you can NOT assault out of a drop pod?
pg 54: 'A Unit that Deep Strikes via Mycetic Spore CANNOT MOVE OR ASSULT IN THE SAME TURN IT ARRIVES but may shoot (or run) as normal.'

Dont thiere is anything that can assult after deepstriking
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,926 Posts
pg 54: 'A Unit that Deep Strikes via Mycetic Spore CANNOT MOVE OR ASSULT IN THE SAME TURN IT ARRIVES but may shoot (or run) as normal.'

Dont thiere is anything that can assult after deepstriking
Planetstrike
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,979 Posts
This has been FAQ'ed by GW in the DA FAQ/ERATTA.

Q. Can troops deploying from a Dark Angels
Drop Pod assault on the turn it lands? Unlike
the Space Marines and Black Templars codexes,
it does not state you cannot.
A. No the embarked troops can’t assault, as they
have deployed by deep strike that turn and
troops that deep strike can’t assault.
Pretty cut and dry for any unit that deep strikes onto the board.
 

·
Jeep's and Harley's
Joined
·
1,997 Posts
That and the fact that the drop pod is considered to have moved at cruising speed. Any vehicle that has moved at cruising speed, no assault for you. Only if it has a special rule allowing you to assault, like the Vanguard Vets with Heroic Intervention, IIRC.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
That and the fact that the drop pod is considered to have moved at cruising speed. Any vehicle that has moved at cruising speed, no assault for you. Only if it has a special rule allowing you to assault, like the Vanguard Vets with Heroic Intervention, IIRC.
Any vehicle that moves at all means no assault, Wether it moves at cruising or combat speed. The only exception is for Open Topped vehicles, which Droppods are, and thusly why this thread came about. It's only the "deepstrikers cannot assault" clause that keeps them in line.

Hope that helps a bit :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,461 Posts
That and the fact that the drop pod is considered to have moved at cruising speed. Any vehicle that has moved at cruising speed, no assault for you. Only if it has a special rule allowing you to assault, like the Vanguard Vets with Heroic Intervention, IIRC.
Heroic Intervention only works with Jump Packs unfortunately.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
To be specific: assaulting out of a drop pod. Why is this not possible? Can someone show me where it says you can NOT assault out of a drop pod?
How about in the Drop Pod rules? Page 69, Codex: Space Marines, page 32, Codex: Blood Angels, page 47, Codex: Space Wolves, and page 22, Codex Black Templars, all have a line in the rules stating that a unit cannot assault the turn it arrives via drop pod.
Dark Angels didn't have that line (such are the perils of an old codex), so they FAQed that one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
How about in the Drop Pod rules? Page 69, Codex: Space Marines, page 32, Codex: Blood Angels, page 47, Codex: Space Wolves, and page 22, Codex Black Templars, all have a line in the rules stating that a unit cannot assault the turn it arrives via drop pod.
Dark Angels didn't have that line (such are the perils of an old codex), so they FAQed that one.
Aah yes, I thought I remembered it in there, but I had no reason to check as it had already been answered.
Also [email protected] Dark Angels, pretty much inviable except the 'wings.
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top