Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Powered by Squig Tea
7,589 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im thinking of starting a undead army.

Im a slow painter so the thought is that the skellies would give me a quick option on the troop front that i can always go back and repaint later should i want.

I also have not played WHF for years

So what would your suggestions be for a skeleton heavy list? What makes it tick? and how would i go about using such a list in game?

·
Premium Member
2,648 Posts
Cool,but you might want to wait for a sec or two. The Vampire Count army book is next on the list for re-release. The rules for basic units like skellies and zombies are changing so I don't know yet which would be better for what. I also don't know how the magic will be affected, and that greatly influences how basic troops are used in a VC army.

As for Khemri, well, you just don't play that army the same, skellies or no, unless you go the special character route and use Khalida (which gives all skellies a poison attack with their bows).

Either way, skellies are the quickest units to paint in the entire game.

·
Registered
7,003 Posts
Yeah i was thinking of making vampire counts, decided against it as i'm not really into them lore wise, as well as the fact i ain't sure when the new book for them is coming out, i know theres new models already shown.

·
Administrator
6,544 Posts
March. The rumors are (and are pretty well confirmed, I think) that skeletons are going to be the main line units, while zombies are going to be the main unit that you can raise. Either way, you're going to want to have lots of skeletons, so you might as well go ahead and pick some up if you're going to start the army. That way, when the book comes out, you've got some models ready to go.