Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,003 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok to be fair i have not played a game under the new 40k rules, since i've moved home just as it was coming out and haven't really got to grips with my local GW yet hehe.

Rapid fire weapons can be fired on the move and shoot two shots at 12"? I only ask becuase it doesn't make it obsolutly clear to me when reading the rule book.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Yes. Rapid Fire weapons can fire once at their maximum range (if stationary) or twice at 12" (even if on the move), and a unit who fires RF weapons cannot charge in the same turn
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,445 Posts
Really? Didn't know about the no charge thing, although know that I think about it, i suppose that's what makes storm bollters advantageous. Firing and charging.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
It's less of an issue with terminators and similar units. If a unit counts as stationary when firing and/or can fire heavy weapons while moving (or any similar rule), then they can still assault even after firing rapid-fife/heavy weapons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
Slow and Purposeful, Bikes, Jump Infantry (Jet Pack), Monstrous creatures and Walkers all count as stationary when firing.

Although the rule gets stated differently in different places in the BGB the effect is the same. Although there are some ambiguities. Only infantry with rapid fire can't assault. All other unit types can.(p36)

Potentially with RAW there is a possibility for MC's with rapid fire weapons to be unable to assault (not a problem with heavy though!)

The rapid fire situation is also ambiguous with jump infantry.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Not at all. Jump infantry don't count as stationary for shooting purposes which is what must be stated in order to assault after firing a rapid fire weapon.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Ready for some real RAW madness?

The rule actually reads 'Models carrying rapid-fie weapons, who fired in the shooting phase may not charge'

Which beans BA DA and CSM who all come with bolt pistols now, technically can't charge after shooting their pistols, because they're still carrying rapid-fire weapons.

This is retarded, and is ignored by most players, but it's a valid RAW issue that needs to be exposed and discussed so it'll get FAQed or changed in the next edition
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
178 Posts
Ready for some real RAW madness?

The rule actually reads 'Models carrying rapid-fie weapons, who fired in the shooting phase may not charge'

Which beans BA DA and CSM who all come with bolt pistols now, technically can't charge after shooting their pistols, because they're still carrying rapid-fire weapons.

This is retarded, and is ignored by most players, but it's a valid RAW issue that needs to be exposed and discussed so it'll get FAQed or changed in the next edition
Pistols are not Rapid-Fire weapons, they are listed as 'Pistols' which means that may may shoot twice if they remain stationary or may shoot once and charge in the assault phase if I remember correctly.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Yes, but re-read what I was saying, and re-read the rules for charging with rapid fire weapons.

The rule isn't 'a model who fires a rapid fire weapon may not charge'
The rule is...
Models carrying rapid fire weapons that wish to charge into close combat in the Assault phase may not fire in the Shooting phase
It doesn't say they may not fire their rapid fire weapons. It just says if they're carrying RF weapons and they shoot in the shooting phase they may not charge.

As I said, it's stupid and nobody plays it like that, but it is a RAW quirk that needs to be fixed
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
Man, you take the cake for being able to work out the logical incongruities of the wording of 40k rules. If I had a hat, I'd take it off to you. But I don't, so I'll have to rip my head off instead. Hang on...

You're absolutely right that, RAW, Blood Angels tac squads can't charge after firing their pistols, because they are carrying bolters.

 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
I can;t take sole credit for ferreting that bit out, apparently when the DA codex got revamped someone over there pointed it out

Oh well, maybe they;ll fix it in 5th edition ;-)
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
That was mentioned on page 1. But whether you fire 1 shot or 2 it;ls still firing a rapid fire weapon.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Correct. One of those rules we all dislike. Well, we did until the new Chaos codex gave us pistols AND bolters hehe.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,003 Posts
Discussion Starter #17 (Edited)
I like the way they've changed it, i remember marines being useless before, always having to stay still if they wanted to do any firing., atleast rapid fire weapons are useful now. I don't think its intentional to stop people firing even bolt pistols if they are carrying rapid fire weapons.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
804 Posts
Not sure if all the races will get simular abilities... thinking it might just be a marine thing, it will be more interesting to see who gets the bolter and bp with the updates
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
Correct. One of those rules we all dislike. Well, we did until the new Chaos codex gave us pistols AND bolters hehe.
...just don't fire your pistols... not if you're carrying bolters...

 
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
Top