Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
905 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have wondered this forever and have never seen anything about it in the rulebook, in codex space marines, in the armoury, it says that terminators can hold company standards or holy relics but its only for standard bearers, so there can be standard bearers in terminator Command Squads??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
... you just can't use the rules for Company, Chapter or Sacred Standards/Banners. Oddly, I was looking at this only this afternoon, checking out options for my soon-to-be librarian, wondering if termies could carry banners.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
if you take a dark angels army and take the master of the deathwing you can upgrade two of your termies, one to carry standard and one to be an apothecary
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
but if you have a command squad with a standard bearer isn't there the option to upgrade to terminator armor from the armory??

hitting it from the back door
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
it would look a bit odd as independant characters in terminator armour may not lead or be attached to a command squad, they may join it during the course of play however, but unless theres a rule in the main rule book (i havent got it to hand at the mo) then technically i suppose theres nothing to stop you, however, if you were to go down that route (i assume you would give term armour to the champion, apothecary and sergeant aswel) there would be at least one marine still in power armour as the min squad size is 5 and only four marines in the command squad has access to the armoury

ref giving a term a standard, there's no mention that you can make a term in the command squad the standard, HOWEVER, has any one noticed that banners standards etc in the armoury has a little 't' next to the entry? indicating that these things may be taken by marines in terminator armour....

.....just a thought. :wink:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
maximus2467 said:
... there would be at least one marine still in power armour as the min squad size is 5 and only four marines in the command squad has access to the armoury

...has any one noticed that banners standards etc in the armoury has a little 't' next to the entry? indicating that these things may be taken by marines in terminator armour....
Odd, isn't it? You are absolutely right, of course (I mean, the situation is odd, and you are right about the rules, not it's odd you're right!)

Maybe there's an FAQ about it. I'd go and look, but, it's dark, there are wolves... OK, I can't be bothered. But when I can, I volunteer to go and ask Jervis Johnson what it all means.

:cyclops:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
given that ind char in term armor cannot be attatched to a command squad and command sqd sgt and others in command sqd have term honour option,it is safe to say that no term armor can be purchased by any sqd member.
codex eludes to term armor only available to ind characters outside of actual terminators.
chapter banner and company banners only available to standard bearer as in parentheses next to those items. only 1 allowed per army.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
Yeah, I think the point was that given that command squads can't take terminator armour, and terminator command squads can't take standard bearers as an upgrade, the fact that the banners and standards have a 't' for 'may be taken by terminators' is what strikes us as odd.

Don't agree with 'only one per army' tho'. As I understand it, you can have two independent characters, each with a command squad, each with a standard bearer, one of whom can take one of the standards/banners from the list (so in theory you could field a company banner and a chapter banner in the same army, or 2 company banners). Company banner aren't included in the 'only one per army' list IIRC.

:cyclops:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
it is safe to say that no term armor can be purchased by any sqd member.
why? it says that the vet sgt and any specialists has access to the space marine armoury and no where does it say that term armour can only be given to ind characters. i cant find any ruling to say that you cant mix it up. if you can then submit the page number and para and i will humbly submit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
which brings another odd question into play. (although im sure it is handled the same bay almost anyone) if you do give a vet sergeant or somebody terminator armor, do they take up 2 spaces on a LR? i play by that whenever i put individuals in term armor, but at 25 points plus weapons, i find you are usually better off just getting a terminator squad.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,615 Posts
I just don't mix them personally. If I'm using terminator-armoured characters, I'll stick them with a terminator squad.

And I don't have a Landraider.

All in all, probably not the best person to answer your question.

But the latest things I've read say "terminators count as 2 models" eg the new BA list (Landraiders and Drop-pods).

:cyclops:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
325 Posts
models in term armour always count as two models in a transport (unless specifically stated in the character/squad entry) and may not use rhinos or razorbacks
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top