Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Can termies armed with Rapidfire weaponry assault after shooting? I'm thinking of chaos termies with combi-bolters here.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
unless it specifically states that termies can in the codex, i will say no.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
It says in the main rulebook that they can. Models that count as stationary for firing rapid-fire weapons can charge after shooting them. Important for a Thousand Sons player to know. :wink: It's on page 36 under the boldface note in the Shooting and Assaulting section. "Some rare units always count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some units can move and fire heavy weapons. Such units can charge after firing." I'd take that to mean Slow and Purposeful models and Terminators, since they count as stationary for pretty much all shooting purposes.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
the thing is i THINK that termie armour actually says models may move and shoot with heavy weapons, but doesnt mention rapid fire. I remember not being able to assault in a game with them at any rate
 

·
blahblahblahblah
Joined
·
6,663 Posts
I think they can it would make sense otherwise Chaos Terminators would be useless really, and Tau battle suits can do it
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
966 Posts
mmmmmm afraid they can't (thats so ghey!). The terminator wording says "models may move and fire with heavy weapons". So if they fire a rapid fire weapon (remember kids you don't have to rapid fire, just fire a rapid fire weapon) then they aint assaulting.

Can't see anything in the online FAQ to say otherwise either.

so ghey.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
Use some common sense. Chaos terminators definitely can charge after using their combi-bolters. It says that "...some units can move and fire heavy weapons. Such units can charge after firing." To me, it sounds like if you can fire a heavy weapon on the move, you'd be able to fire a rapid-fire weapon on the move as well. It says "such units..." so it seems to me like they just have to meet either requirement. Most things that the note applies to fulfill both anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
383 Posts
I personally wouldn't have a problem with them firing and charging, but if someone wants to be a Rule Nazi in a game then so be it.

GW Have surely known of this grey area for some time and have yet to address it in a FAQ update.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
966 Posts
or those who are playing in a tourney where unfortuanalty RAW is the correct way to interperate the rules as per GW - who write the rules.

If you want to agree to skip this then thats fine, but as it lies its a dumb, but perfectly clear nerfing for the CSM termies.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
Some rare units always count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some units can move and fire heavy weapons. Such units can charge after firing
The problem with this wording is that is SEEMS to relate the two groups yet does not in any way actually combine them. It is definitely a problem area that needs addressing.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
154 Posts
unfortunately no they can't although everyone knows they should be able to. Comes down to if your playing a friendly game or a tournament game really
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,688 Posts
The Son of Horus said:
To me, it sounds like if you can fire a heavy weapon on the move, you'd be able to fire a rapid-fire weapon on the move as well.
Yeah, totally agreed.

I mean, the reason troops cant fire heavy weapons after moving is cuz, well, they are bulky and big and crap.

So i assume if you could fire a much smaller rapid fire weapon, then surely you can fire a giant ass can. Hehe, ass can!
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
That is how we play it here. Terms can assault after firing regardless of the weapon. Same thing with anything slow and purposeful or that counts as standing still for shooting purposes. It just makes sense.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
801 Posts
This is why I stopped playing in most tournaments. It may have just been me, but the rules lawyering got rampantly out of hand in at least two games, effectively ruining the whole thing for me. I played tournaments to fight challenging opponents with well-assembled armies, not argue a point.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,559 Posts
I agree with Son of Horus about this:

It says that "...some units can move and fire heavy weapons. Such units can charge after firing." To me, it sounds like if you can fire a heavy weapon on the move, you'd be able to fire a rapid-fire weapon on the move as well. It says "such units..." so it seems to me like they just have to meet either requirement.
It does not say "...charge after firing heavy weapons" so, if you adhere to purely what is written they can fire then charge any weapon; whether or not that was intended to be the case, adding a condition that is not written is not strictly RAW.

However, I disagree with him about this:

The only people who are rules nazis are people who can't paint and are insecure about not only losing, but losing to someone who actually is good at the hobby.

That's my experience, at any rate.
Some people are stricter or laxer on rules purely depending on whether they feel animus toward their opponent: if they face a fluffy army they are tolerant of everything including rewinding time to do something you forgot; if they face an optimised fluff-ignoring list then they will challenge every possible advantage.

Also. one man's overly strict rule challenge is another man's defence against cheating.

Ultimately, real legal systems with proper consequences have no solved the problem of ambiguity, so I have no expectation that GW will resolve it; it would be pleasant if they published general definitions and proper rules of interpretation for terms in the next editions though so that, amongst others, wording in one book really was a guide to meaning of rules in others.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top