Sword bretheren terminator assault squad
6 terminators
4 lightning claws/2 TH-SS
Vet skill: Furious charge
Land raider crusader/smoke

3 Land speeders
3 Multimeltas
3 Heavy Flamers

I have about 40 points left to make some add-ons/changes. Any advice is appreciated since this is my first time playing templars. Im trying to build a list for a friend and hes having a hard time getting the hang of these guys. What do you guys think? I figure the two infiltrating squads with meltas and good cc can hurt anyone early on and be touch to deal with.

·
Registered
17 Posts
I would lose the pod, BT pods dont have the guidance system (to avoid a mishap) and do not come in on the first turn.

The sword bretheren, give them a transport and furious charge. Otherwise they are just overpriced initiates. With FC they are str 5, in 5 marines.

BT landspeeders arent that great in my opinion. A great BT tank buster is a venerable dread w/ tank hunter. You can then load him out with a str 10 lascannon and a str 9 missile launcher. this way you can pop tanks from 48 in and not just 12 in.

I would give the crusader squads BP/CCW to take the best advatage of the champions oath.

The retinue of initiates- I'm pretty sure that Termie honors are an everybody or nobody deal with them. Also, you are going to have ALOT of points tied up in the marshall and his retinue, if you dont give him a transport they are going to get shot up. Lastly, on the Marshall and retinue,The marshall is CC, but the retinue contains heavy weapons that force him to stay still if you want to use them. I advise dropping the heavy weapons, tooling the retinue for CC and giving them a transport to help protect them.

These are just a few suggestions, I hope they help.

·
Registered
186 Posts
the marshal is nice, but very expensive for a guy that can die to a powerfist hit. Personally I like dual claws iron halo and orb, a little cheaper, and gets to hit first (he is best with a reg initiate squad).