Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

So here's the deal, I have a Grey Knight force and I really want to field it with a large contingent of deep striking units. I've read the rules on Teleport Homers over and over to help facilitate, but there are a couple of things that keep bothering me....

For example, if I have a unit of Grey Knight Terminators deep strike and the squad can't fit around the Homer carrying unit inside the blast template, can they just not deep strike?

Also, if my Homer carrying Justicar or Brother Captain are in close combat, what happens if I want to use their teleport homer to drop in a squad?? Can I not do that because of the close combat??Or is there a way I can drop them right inside the fray alongside the homer carrying Justicars/Brother Captains??

Thanks for the input
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
4th ed Deep Strike no longer uses the blast template.
Use the DS rules in the BBB.

You place the first model up to 6" from the model carrying the homer, then you lay down the other models on concentric rings around the first model. (Technically, the teleport homer model is useless since you;re supposed to arrange the squad around one of its members, it says nothing aboutactually laying down a marker for the homer)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
428 Posts
Galahad is right. Also you can't drop into a close combat. You would have to be 1" away from enemy models, blah, blah, as far as the deep strike. Also you can only fire (counting as moving) when you deep strike and cannot move or assult.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,512 Posts
the model deepstriking does not need a homer. You place the leader of the deep striking unit within 6" of the model with the homer and he does not scatter. then you place the squad in concentric circles around the leader model, making sure that a full circle is completed before beginning another around the inner circle.

they cannot deepstrike into combat and cannot assault out of deepstrike unless it says they can.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
You place the leader of the deep striking unit within 6" of the model with the homer and he does not scatter
Don't forget as well that there is nothing in the rules for homers that says the first must be ENTIRELY within 6" so you can place the model with the barest edge of the base within 6" in order to give yourself a bit more room. Same thing for disembarking btw and that actually has an example of such in picture form right in the BBB.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Theres also nothing in the rules that says the first member to be deployed must be the leader... any model in the unit can act as the first model. All that matters is every other model deploys in concentric circles around the first model and if you cant complete a circle at any point in time you loose the remaining models.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
811 Posts
if you cant complete a circle at any point in time you loose the remaining models.
thats misleading, a correction if you don't mind

if you cant complete a circle at any point in time you [due to Impassable terrain or another model in the way] you loose the remaining models.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Also worth noting is that the homer model itself is never used in-game (unless you want to try and model it onto the base of the model who carries it, but it's really too big for that)

Most people believe you place the homer model on the board and place the rest of the unit around it. Not so, you;ve got to place a model from the unit and then the others around it.

But, hey, it makes a dandy objective marker or tech bit ;-)
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
6,544 Posts
And it's an easy way to prop up a jump pack-equipped model so that it looks like they're leaping over it or something. Most people do model teleport homers on the models carrying them-- honestly, a couple auspecies cut to fit together tends to work pretty well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
Ok, so to my understanding, a homer does nothing?

At my local store, when I verse a SM player using Termies, they always try to DS after turn 1, blah blah, if they get it, they say it's got homers, and they say the rules are as follows..

-----The homer may be placed anywhere on the board, except on units or terrain, and they never scatter when DSing.

Somehow I think thats wrong...
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Ummm... very wrong. Next person who does that to you, grab your BGB and commence beating them with it. Tell them that you used their "Homer" to ensure that your book never scattered from hitting them in the face.
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
They still DS from 2nd turn on as normal and the homer must be carried by another model already on the table. When the DS unit arrives, it can DS as usual with scatter anywhere on the table OR it can DS without deviation up to 6" away from the model carrying the homer.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Exactly. The homer is never placed on the board. The homer is carried by a model. When the unit of terminators comes up from reserves normally, they may either walk in from the edge, DS normally and scatter, or DS within 6" of the model that;s carrying the homer, as wraithlord said.

In times like this I always like th encourage violence against whomever is so blatantly fucking with you. The book is hard covered for a reason, and those extra hundred pages of color photos only add to the damage it can do.

Purge the heretic upside his head
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
It was a learning game for the BT player, no big deal, just thought there was some sort of problem there...

Anyway, I asked a player about the rules on the club forum, and she said..

K So you have to give u're leader a teleport homer. This will allow you to deep strike within 6" of him with out scattering. Only works on squads that have teleporting. The teleport homer has to be on the table at the start of the turn that it is to be used.

From what I gather, thats all good except for the fact that the homer doesn't go on the board...

That game was horrid anyway..somehow an entire Infantry platoon I was foolish enough not to get away from the table edge, all fled off it and died. Yeah..that sucked. Oh well.
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
Well the part about it "being on the board" means that the model equipped with it must be feet down on the board at the beginning of the turn its used. So it cant be used by a model in a vehicle, a model which just teleported or deepstriked itself, or just walked on the board from reserves. Deepstriking and rolling for reserves in general happens before your movement phase so your opponent cant have a model jump out of a vehicle, walk on from reserves, or arrive via deepstrike itself then use the homer. Think of Deepstriking, teleporting, drop podding, and walking on the board from reservers as happening simultaneously. Your re-inforcements arrive then you move.

Great places that it CAN be used from.. a model with a bike which turbo boosed across the board, a model that infiltrated, and models which are locked in assualt.

THere are a few freak occasions when Terminators arrive via Deepstrike which you should be aware of. If Captain Lysander of the Imperial Fists is being used then all teleporting Terminators may arrive on the same reserves roll (starting the second round) and deployed seperately. Another thing to watch for is Dark Angels Deathwing assualt.. in which case upto HALF of all their Terminator squads may arrive via Deep Strike in the first turn WITHOUT rolling for reserves.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
89 Posts
Eh, sorry for ressurecting this again, but it's better than making a new topic imo.

Can Blood Angels actually take teleporters, or is it not available to the chapter? Sorry if it's a dumb question..
 

·
Inquisitor
Joined
·
963 Posts
You can if its in your wargear list. Just remember teleport homers do nothing for Jump Pack troops "jumping in" or for drop pods "dropping by". Only works with teleporting terminators.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
Teleport Homers do not exist in the Blood Angels List.


wHich is a huuuuge ripoff considering our jump packs and (remarkably) cheap terminators.

If we just had homers, we could really do some damage.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top