Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Tau Rapid Fire

3463 Views 61 Replies 17 Participants Last post by  Ordo Xeno Commander
One of my mates play tau and just to clear up further arguments I need this question answered:

Can fire warriors rapid fire at 30"
I mean, can they get both shots at 30" when every one gets two shot at 12"

Cheers, Kapeesh
1 - 5 of 62 Posts
he's right. rapid fire is *always* 12 inch, despite the firewarriors having 30 inch range.
RAW states you may fire twice at a target less then 12" away which this target is or once at targets beyond 12" which this is not.
Exaclty, may, implying an option.
good, i was about to shout "Flaming War" and get someone shut down., or even get the thread locked. watch how you speak to each other, this is a pleasant forum. Galahad, you should know better after being here so long. Kulgur, please re-read the rules if you haven't. and im not favouring either of you. Galahad remember he is a new member. Kulgur, please respect the people who have been around longer as they know the forum better and know the mod's and so on quite a bit better than you. keep calm guys. its simply a discussion, lets not make it any more heated than it should be.

Kulgur, the plasma gun is the main reason for this debate now, and we seemed to have reached the conclusion that you may elect to fire one or two shots at 12 inches depending on what you want to do.

If i had the power i would lock this thread because of the heat it is causing.

remember guys, keep cool. its just a game, and rules can be interpreted differently, although we have seemed to reach the conclusion mentioned earlier in my post.

thanks guys, please help keep this forum a pleasant place to be.
See less See more
Ordo, you after my job? :grin:

BGB, Pg 29, Rapid Fire Weapons

"Any infantry model armed with a Rapid Fire weapon can shoot twice at targets up to 12" away"

The key word here is can. The model can shoot twice, not must. That is the rule right there in plain English and does not say you must shoot twice in any way, shape, or form. The summary does not, and never will, override or expand on the written rule. The fact is that the rule says you can shoot twice which means that you can choose not to. If you couldn't, the rule would say you must shoot twice.

A good example of this is the chaos dreadnought entry on pg40 of the new chaos codex under the Blood Rage rule where it says very plainly that it "must move as far as possible towards the nearest enemy". Must move, not can, meaning their is no choice to be made.

So again, the fact that a Rapid Fire weapon 'can' fire twice on the move up to 12" does not mean it must.
haha, well about your job...... :biggrin:

im with Wraith on this. he has explained it as clear as can be, and all someone has to do is ask at a tourney next time someones on and we will find out.
and is also what has been said before. You can elect to fire once or twice at 12 inches with a rapid fire weapon, end of discussion
1 - 5 of 62 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.