Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Yes!

In the aforepictured situation, the player in Reserve had no vehicles or units that could pass over enemy models (skimmers/jetbikes/jump Infantry) so he just auto-lost. Tanks could TS onto the table and fire upon the models blocking, hopefully opening a hole for other later Reserves to deploy through.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Yep, the reason the above worked (and supposedly someone managed to do it yet again this year) is because the White Scars player was all bikers. You can tank shock onto the table.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
0 points for sportsmanship.

But yes the in perfectly fine and slap someone a second time if they say otherwise (the first if for deploying like that)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
...but how could that work? Couldn't then jetbike and jetpack units simply fly over and ignore the limitations as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
...but how could that work? Couldn't then jetbike and jetpack units simply fly over and ignore the limitations as well?
Yes, they could. It only works against all Infantry/walker/(regular) bike armies. Which is what the photo above and the supposed occurance this year consisted of.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
Yes, they could. It only works against all Infantry/walker/(regular) bike armies. Which is what the photo above and the supposed occurance this year consisted of.
Couldn't infantry on small bases also assault onto the board, theoretically? (I know, it happens in a different phase, just thinking aloud here)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Couldn't infantry on small bases also assault onto the board, theoretically? (I know, it happens in a different phase, just thinking aloud here)
No, just no. Basically, if the model is not on the table, it is not in play (altho there are some exceptions/powers that can be used by models off table). So if they cannot move on, they cannot assault. In addition, nearly every tourney I've been to declares that if a unit cannot enter the table from reserves due to a picket fence (ala the old GW ruling on SW Behind Enemy Lines, too bad they left it out of the current FAQ), it is destroyed. And a destroyed unit certainly cannot assault, can it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,028 Posts
Wow that would be so much fun to do. Then I could sit around smiling at my scholar's mate while everyone else actual plays for thier win.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Too bad for Daemons there is absolutely NO way to avoid this sort of shenanigans :
.... Deepstrike? :p

Yes, because it's certainly unsporting to take advantage of someone being stupid.

Sportsmanship/= let you win
I think that's a little unfair to the guy Klokk. It wasn't being stupid, no one would expect a 30 man squad to simply kongaline to block off the deployment zone completely - it's simply a very dodgy move (legal yes, but dodgy) that worked because he had a fluffy white scars army, and not a 5th ed Mech army. Insulting a guy for using a tactic that many people use (deploying all in reserve) is a little unfair in this instance. Plus, technically, it should have just gone to a hung game, as the first turn can't be legally completed - the TOs call against him was the deciding factor. As it was, Sportsmanship also includes a bit of "was this person fun to have a game against?" and "Was this person out to win at all costs, with out aiming for a good game?", and those would probably be a no, all things considered. It's not all of the sportsmanship score though, of course, and the idea of sportsmanship does vary from country to country and from meta to meta of course, so you might disagree on that count, but from my perspective, denying even the possibility of a game is not a good example of sportsmanship.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
It would be stupid to think that "all Reserves" couldn't be countered. I didn't say the guy deserved full marks but a zero sportsmanship smacks of sour grapes to me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
.... Deepstrike? :p
Doesn't work when they literally cover the board in Kroot :S
It only takes like 80 or so >_> Not common to happen, but possible.

I think that's a little unfair to the guy Klokk. It wasn't being stupid, no one would expect a 30 man squad to simply kongaline to block off the deployment zone completely - it's simply a very dodgy move (legal yes, but dodgy) that worked because he had a fluffy white scars army, and not a 5th ed Mech army. Insulting a guy for using a tactic that many people use (deploying all in reserve) is a little unfair in this instance.
Frankly I'm kinda confused as to why he wasn't Outflanking with half his army anyway.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Frankly I'm kinda confused as to why he wasn't Outflanking with half his army anyway.
He didn't have Khan, just a Biker Captain or something (which also allows you to take an all biker army). My bet is that he's one of the old guard who still don't trust them fancy "special" characters. Or he just hates Khan, either way...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
Could it have been during 4th ed?
No, it was 5th, but reasonably early on. I think you can find a thread all about it from a thread.... a year ago or so?

In 4th, you couldn't all reserve anyway, except in very special circumstances. The situation described would only be able to happen to about 0.01% of armies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
It wasn't being stupid, no one would expect a 30 man squad to simply kongaline to block off the deployment zone completely - it's simply a very dodgy move (legal yes, but dodgy)
I would have, expected it, that is. I've been waring opponents about it ever since 5th came out, back when I was still using a 4th ed IG codex and could infiltrate whole platoons. And there's nothing 'dodgy' about it at all. Is it dodgy for me to shoot at a unit outside of cover to prevent you from getting a cover save? No difference. You make a mistake and I get to take advantage of it. It's that simple. GW recognized it back when SW Scouts first got Behind Enemy Lines, and stated that if a conga line (Picket fence was their phrase, IIRC) prevented a unit from coming onto the table the unit was destroyed. Based on that precedent, the game is not hung on turn one. It goes to turn 2 reserves, units are destroyed, turn 3 reserves, etc until the White Scars player runs out of units.

Don't forget, the Kroot player WARNED the idiot that he had a lot of infiltrators, and then even asked him "Are you sure about that" when he put everything in reserves. That's one warning more than I would have given him. All the WS player had to do is deploy ONE sacrificial model, and it could not have happened. Yeah, I'd call it stupid.

I even did it to a Kroot player in a GT practice game, back in 4th. He declared he was going to infiltrate his whole army. I deployed half of mine, we dice off, I win and get to infiltrate a unit first. By stringing it out, he now has nowhere on the table that is outside of 18" and is unable to infiltrate. Game over. We swept it clean and reset, and from then on, if his opponent had infiltrators, he deployed at least one unit normally to prevent it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
No, it was 5th, but reasonably early on. I think you can find a thread all about it from a thread.... a year ago or so?

In 4th, you couldn't all reserve anyway, except in very special circumstances. The situation described would only be able to happen to about 0.01% of armies.
It was at last year's European Championship, the team event thingie. Definitely 5th ed. And supposedly happened again this year, altho I forget the armies involved.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
210 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
It was Russia v France in the 2009 ETC. They don't allow Special Characters at all so he couldn't use Khan and yes, the French lad asked him 2 or 3 times if he was putting everything into reserve before he deployed.

This year, it was Norn Iron v Poland I think. There was a Polish merc playing for the Nordies and he was facing an Eldar army that had 2 huge Jetlock units that did the same thing. That poor lad, he had a bad weekend. He ended up falling through a table in one of his other games...

It's not all of the sportsmanship score though, of course, and the idea of sportsmanship does vary from country to country and from meta to meta of course, so you might disagree on that count, but from my perspective, denying even the possibility of a game is not a good example of sportsmanship.
No it isn't. If you're not good enough to avoid this you shouldn't be a gimp and dick someone who is clearly better than you. Thank God we don't use Sports over here.
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
Top