Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you want to Ram that Landraider 11 inches away with your Deff Rolla rigged Battlewagon and there is a unit of space marines on foot in your way can you tank shock through the marines and ram the Landeraider on the same turn?

Basically your conducting a Ram (by special tank shock) and getting there by tank shocking another unit...

Is this a correct analysis?

-Christopher
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,132 Posts
PG 68 says you cannot ram if you tank shock for some reason.
"Comes to within 1" of an enemy vehicle, it immediately stops moving."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
212 Posts
Well, PG 69 says that if you declare a Ram, any unit you plow through are tank shocked as normal.
Just declare the RAM first, then the opponent can bawl all he wants, its written in the rules.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
On a side question that has relevanc ehere.
I get confused with tank shocking(I have Aspergues syndrom so i struggle with the more unused rules) and i was wonder how exactly it works.
I know that if you tank shock you have to pass a Ld test and if you fail you run away. Simple enoguth. I know that if you pass you can "Deaht or Glory" whihc is fine but i was wondering what was the point other than trying to deatroy the thing. so my question is. If i pass my Ld test but don't want to "Death or Glory" what happens?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,277 Posts
You just move aside by the fastest route possible, typically temporarily breaking unit unit cohesion.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,976 Posts
You just move aside by the fastest route possible, typically temporarily breaking unit unit cohesion.
Just to clarify, you only move the models out of the way if they would end up underneath the vehicle when it stopped (and they are moved 1" away from the vehicle, as per p68). Otherwise, you just leave them where they are, and put the vehicle on the other side of them, however far it was meant to have gone. It just helps stop vehicles from cutting lanes through infantry units, which would take a while to move around, and slow down play.

But yes, if the moral check is passed (or the unit tank shocked is fearless), and you choose not to death or glory, then that's all that happens. It isn't exactly a big effect, but it can be useful, allowing a tank to stop in the middle of a unit to use things like flame templates more effectively, or get to the other side of a unit, to contest objectives, drop off troops on the other side, or whatever.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top