Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there any way to take over an occupied fortification other than destroying it? Can jump infantry or deep strike units deploy into an occupied fortification and destroy the occupying unit and then claim the fortification?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
Can jump infantry or deep strike units deploy into an occupied fortification and destroy the occupying unit and then claim the fortification?
They can if there is space for the models to be placed and they don't scatter into oblivion, though if there is an enemy unit currently holding the Fortification they will need to be destroyed in order to 'claim' the Fortification (pg. 112, BRB).

To be sure though, some fortifications simply don't have the space for this to happen. For example, if you were trying to DS a unit onto a Battlement of an Imperial Bastion and there is a unit (or gun emplacement) on top of it you're likely not going to be able to place the models. Not to mention at that point a scatter of 1" might just make the squad mishap due to the space available. They cannot, however, DS directly into the building any better than they can DS into a transport vehicle.

EDIT: more proof of yes for you, pg. 162 BRB under Deep Strike:

Deep Striking units count non-ruined buildings (except for their Battlements) as impassable terrain.
This definitely implies you are good to DS onto Battlements.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So let's say a unit successfully deep strikes onto the battlement of an imperial bastion that has an enemy unit inside the bastion. Can the unit on the battlement get inside the building and assault the occupying enemy unit inside the bastion?

The updated building rules in stronghold assault describe the rules for battlements as follows:
“Battlements are treated as one large Access Point for their building, meaning that a unit inside can disembark onto the battlements, or embark from the battlements.”

It also states: "In many respects, these buildings function like any other unit in a player's army: the major difference is that they can be captured by the enemy, even swapping hands several times over the course of the battle."
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,323 Posts
You can't assault the turn you arrive from Reserves/Deep Strike, so that's a nope. The following turn if you're still there you could assault a squad inside.
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
If your DSing unit has a lot of flamers, those can torch people inside the buildings pretty handily, though...
 
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
Top