Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Intro
So I've been playing Warhammer 40K for about 10 years now, and I’d like to make an attempt at writing a tactics article and share some of the tricks I've learned. I’ll focus on one here. However, please take this with a grain of salt. I haven’t had a chance to play much within the last few years because of work, and I have yet to play a full game of 6th Edition. So if anything I write in here seems obsolete within the context of the current rule book, please let me know. But, after reading the rules and playing though several versions of the rule book, I think it is still a valid tactic.

The Advantages of Range
“The owner of the longest range weapon controls where the battle will be fought.”

If a player has longer range weapons then his opponent, his opponent must move towards him to fight thereby giving that player certain advantages over his opponent.

Let’s create a thought experiment between two armies of MEQs or foot. Imagine you and your opponent just deployed your armies. They’re lined up in each of their deployment zones, somewhere just over 24” away, up to 48” away or more from each other and in cover. You, expecting to fight lots of Meqs, Teqs, and vehicles, brought lots of plasma guns and melta guns. Very powerful weapons, but with short range. Your opponent however, brought heavy bolters, autocannons, missile launchers, and lascannons.

Right from turn one, your opponent starts blasting away from extreme range, out of range for your weapons. So now, you have 2 options:
a) Sit back and hope your armor and cover saves hold out as your opponent slowly grinds you dust or
b) Take the fight to the enemy!

Being a good-natured 40K player, obviously your going to chose option b. But, these leaves you with 2 disadvantages: