Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
With particular reference to the GT, can they deepstrike then skyleap back out on the same turn? has it been faq'd anywhere?
 

·
Porn King!!!
Joined
·
8,137 Posts
The way it has been used against me, yes. But I don't have the newest eldar book so I am unsure.
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
It says they can leap on their movement phase. Doesn't say theycan;t do it after deep strike. They can even do it while in combat. So, yeah, I suppose you can do it any time, so long as it;s your movement phase. So, i suppose if you didn't like where they landed you could pick them back up and try again, but I think I'd rather just maneuver them on the board rather than putting them back in reserves.

But I have bad luck with reserves rolls
 

·
Executive Nitpicker
Joined
·
8,276 Posts
<shrugs> As long as his unit isn't doing anything useful, I'm not too concerned about whether or not I get to kill it. Just focus on the stuff you can reach and take comfort in the fact he isn't making back his points any time soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
well that s4 ap 5 large blast can get to you eventually. like you said i wouldnt worry too much about them, but it would still drive me crazy not being able to kill them. when i looked over them in my dex, i could find no other use for them except fo claiming objectives, dropping crap from the skies, and melta bomb rushing the tanks. i find them a vrey limited unit for their price and would probably not get them any time soon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
According to a conversation with Jervis at the Baltimore Games Day, no, they cannot jump out the same turn they land.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
84 Posts
*Sigh, again*

I've already been going over this at librarium...

Deep Strike - "Troops arriving via deep strike may not move or assault on the turn they arrive. They may shoot as normal, but count as having moved."

Skyleap - "The player may elect to remove a unit with skyleap from the table in its movement phase..."

To use skyleap you must engage the ability during the UNITS movement phase, not your armies, as it states clearly. If it was referring to the Eldar players movement phase it would have said "during the Eldar movement phase" or "during the controlling players movement phase." Instead it uses the possesive adjective form of "is" to denote the individial unit.

Deep strike says plainly that a unit arriving that way counts as having moved ie using its movement phase.

The only way to suggest that they can do both is to say that even if a unit has fufilled the conditions of a given action is still doesn't count as having done so unless it accomplished something related to the action, "Even though it counts as having moved, it still gets to act in its movement phase because it didn't actually cover any distance on the table." Taking this idea further we get "The unit fired during the shooting phase, but because it didn't hit anything, it didn't fufill the purpose of the shooting phase, so it doesn't count as having shot and I get my bonus attacks in assault."
 

·
Slave to Heresy!
Joined
·
8,803 Posts
*Sigh, again*

I've already been going over this at librarium...

Deep Strike - "Troops arriving via deep strike may not move or assault on the turn they arrive. They may shoot as normal, but count as having moved."

Skyleap - "The player may elect to remove a unit with skyleap from the table in its movement phase..."

To use skyleap you must engage the ability during the UNITS movement phase, not your armies, as it states clearly. If it was referring to the Eldar players movement phase it would have said "during the Eldar movement phase" or "during the controlling players movement phase." Instead it uses the possesive adjective form of "is" to denote the individial unit.

Deep strike says plainly that a unit arriving that way counts as having moved ie using its movement phase.

The only way to suggest that they can do both is to say that even if a unit has fufilled the conditions of a given action is still doesn't count as having done so unless it accomplished something related to the action, "Even though it counts as having moved, it still gets to act in its movement phase because it didn't actually cover any distance on the table." Taking this idea further we get "The unit fired during the shooting phase, but because it didn't hit anything, it didn't fufill the purpose of the shooting phase, so it doesn't count as having shot and I get my bonus attacks in assault."
Thats cleared that one up then. :p

Cheers
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
84 Posts
Somehow, I doubt it. People have built whole armies around this cheese-dom and will go down fighting over it. Still, it astounds me how people can be so lax with what should be clearly written language just so they can get a slight edge... It's like beating an Australian in a spelling bee - it's easy, but you don't feel like a real winner.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
333 Posts
Basically, UK GT FAQ says yes you can, almost everyone else says you're *insert expletive of choice*if you do. Wherether or not RAW says you can or not (and I think even that is dubious) its blatantly not supposed to happen.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
84 Posts
If that's true (and I have yet to find an actual copy of the UK GT faq anywhere I looked) then the person making the decision has the reading ability of a remedial student and should be banned from talking about things he doesn't understand.

Anyone got a copy of that faq handy?
 
1 - 16 of 16 Posts
Top