Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
here is my question If you meet the requirements to roll WBB, can you roll for WBB if your squad got caught in a sweeping advance?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
468 Posts
A unit that is swept is 'removed immediately. Unless otherwise specified, no save or other special rule can rescue the unit' - We'll Be Back doesn't specify otherwise, so it doesn't work.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thats so aggrivating. :sigh: ok thanks guys i also reread the sweeping advance rule when i got home and I agree and it pisses me off. anyway i am gonna go cry in my cherrios
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,648 Posts
thats so aggrivating. :sigh: ok thanks guys i also reread the sweeping advance rule when i got home and I agree and it pisses me off. anyway i am gonna go cry in my cherrios
This is often where new Necron players fall down. Sweeping Advance is so dangerous to Necrons, and needs to be taken into account at the list building stage.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Being a Necron player, you should be used to that....:p
well i have always wanted the " terminator style army" thats why i have them. but i have really only played a couple games with them. I traded a huge chunk of my Chaos Space Marines for them, and i am happy with them but they really do need to be updated, so ill wait and play my 1500 point World Eater army

This is often where new Necron players fall down. Sweeping Advance is so dangerous to Necrons, and needs to be taken into account at the list building stage.
yes that is true but there really is no way other than minimise your squads and hold them in reserve until you soften up your opponents army a bit with your characters (deciever comes to mind) and heavy choices
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,978 Posts
A unit that is swept is 'removed immediately. Unless otherwise specified, no save or other special rule can rescue the unit' - We'll Be Back doesn't specify otherwise, so it doesn't work.
Necron Codex Pg13 said:
Any Necron model that is reduced to 0 Wounds, or would otherwise be removed as a casualty,
But doesn`t the codex supercede the rulebook? :read:

Being a Necron player, you should be used to that....:p
Also being a necron player, I have a win ratio of 4:1:1. Cry? Not likely :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
Sadly not in this case, because you have to explicitly include Sweeping Advance in your special rule to escape it. The WBB special rule does not so as Sweeping Advance says no special rule may save them.

Aramoro
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,978 Posts
It does, it always does, but there is no contradiction there; it's the difference between Jaws of the World Wolf, and killing a model normally, you just remove the model, it's not actually taking a wound.
It doesn`t have to be wounded, any model reduced to W0 or would otherwise be removed as a casualty.

JotWW does allow WBB.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
It doesn`t have to be wounded, any model reduced to W0 or would otherwise be removed as a casualty.

JotWW does allow WBB.
I'd like you to point out to me exactly where in the JotWW entry it states that the models are removed as casualties.


Also look at The Last Laugh ability, that states they are removed from the game as casualties; the FAQ states that such abilities can revive models affected by the ol' Stasis Bomb (somehow), but has no mention of JotWW.
JotWW does not allow revivey abilities.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Sweeping Advance removes the unit, and no special rule can save them. Period. WBB does not have a statement (such as that in ATSKNF) saying that it disregards Sweeping Advance. SO no, WBB does not work against Sweeping Advance, and yes, all the models in the unit, to include damaged (downed) models are removed. Sorry, but that's just the way it works since 4th ed and that's the way it works in 5th ed.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
10,978 Posts
Sweeping Advance removes the unit, and no special rule can save them. Period. WBB does not have a statement (such as that in ATSKNF) saying that it disregards Sweeping Advance. SO no, WBB does not work against Sweeping Advance, and yes, all the models in the unit, to include damaged (downed) models are removed. Sorry, but that's just the way it works since 4th ed and that's the way it works in 5th ed.
Fair enough then. Another nec player brought it up, and it sparked my curiosity, so I wanted more opinion.

I'd like you to point out to me exactly where in the JotWW entry it states that the models are removed as casualties.

Also look at The Last Laugh ability, that states they are removed from the game as casualties; the FAQ states that such abilities can revive models affected by the ol' Stasis Bomb (somehow), but has no mention of JotWW.
JotWW does not allow revivey abilities.
Removed from play. My mistake.

Hadn`t played necrons for a bit (new nids and all) so I wanted to make sure I had the rules right this time, and this thread already had my question covered. Thanks for clarification.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top