Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I understand that Simple Green is the solvent of choice to strip plastic models. (the specifics of that are a bit above my head, but I have plenty of bodies to try it on) My question is, as I have about 200 cadians to strip, can I just dump them all in a vat of the stuff at once, and if so, how much simple green would I need? Or do I need to do them individually? Because, quite frankly, the latter sounds more arduous than painting them...

·
Registered
634 Posts
im no expert at stripping models (not 40k ones at least :) ) but i would think that putting them all in may be the way ahead especially with 200 models. but i must say when i first saw this i really did think "thats some weird club your going to

·
Registered
2,021 Posts
your best bet, is to do batchs of say 10 or 20 modles at a time, it gives the simple green/detol more time time to work and be more efective, if you chuck a load in at once, you may need to redo em a few times.
but it also depends on how much paint is on the modles, if its only thin coats, then it wont take too long, but if its thick layers, it will take longer, and you will need to do em in smaller batches in order to get a good result

·
Registered
1,445 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
@fynn, to be honest, it probably varies. These cadians were painted over four years, so I'm not 100% sure, but I'd say the vast majority are simply primer and a single coat of undiluted GW paint.

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
but i must say when i first saw this i really did think "thats some weird club your going to[/QUOTE said:
haha i kust thought good luck and something along the lines of f**k that.

Seriously though i second the batches idea. You dont want to put too many in at a time. Im pretty sure there is a tutorial out there on using simple green. Ill have a look.

http://www.heresy-online.net/forums/showthread.php?t=3339