Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Can someone out there help me out? what does the D3 mean on Ordinance Barrage D3 Large Blast for the Storm Eagle Rockets
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,115 Posts
Roll a d6 and divide by 2 and you place that many blast markers. ie you roll a 4, divide by 2 and you get 2 so place two ordnance blast markers.
 

·
Apathetic Megalomaniac
Joined
·
456 Posts
D3 indicates that you roll a D6 dice and, on a 1-2, you get 1 large blast, on a 3-4, you get 2 large blasts, and on a 5-6, you get 3 large blasts. Each are of course scattered, and its possible for them to overlap for multiple hits.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,115 Posts
yep you get to fire 4 rockets and each rocket is D3 blasts, so up to 12 blasts during the game
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
one more question....which template does the deathstrike missile use? and what does that whole D3+3'' mean?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,113 Posts
It doesn't use a templete, the D3+3" means you roll a D3 (or rather a D6 with 1-2 =1 ect.) and then add 3" to it, so maximum template size is 6" minimum is 4" though i don't know if this would be diamemter or radius, someone will have to check the codex for me.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,113 Posts
Part of me thought it was radius, but then i thought "hold on, 12" diameter? not to sure about that" but if you guys say it's radius then i have no reason to distrust you. hmmm, gonna have to get me one of those!
 

·
Imperial Major
Joined
·
383 Posts
Storm Eagle Rockets

Can fire four of these in the game, one per turn. Each single shooting phase that a rocket is fired roll a D3 (D6/2). This represent the warhead separating into a cluster of rockets in mid air. The blast templates are resolved as normal, if multiple blasts are rolled resolve them as a barrage from a squad of artillery (think 3 basilisks).

Deathstrike Missile

Once the deathstrike has fired roll a D3 (D6/2). Then add 3 to this result and you have the radius of the blast caused by the missile. (So minimum of 4 and maximum of 6) There is no center blast, no cover saves allowed and hits on vehicles are resolved on side armour.

Hope that answers your question and I haven't missed anything.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Remember as well that you may fire the Rockets directly and have D3 shots instead of using the multiple barrage rules if the target is in LOS.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,314 Posts
The Manticore might also not resolve as a Multiple Barrage as it's firing all the shots and there's no Guard FAQ to cover it. But then again it might because the Eldar FAQ says your resolve the Tempest Launcher as Multiple Barrage.

Aramoro
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
The Manticore might also not resolve as a Multiple Barrage as it's firing all the shots and there's no Guard FAQ to cover it. But then again it might because the Eldar FAQ says your resolve the Tempest Launcher as Multiple Barrage.

Aramoro
Given that there are no rules whatsoever that cover a single weapon firing multiple blasts, either Direct or Barrage, the easiest solution is to apply the appropriate rules for the mode of fire. This just happens to agree with the only FAQ question that GW has answered along these lines, the Eldar Tempest Launcher you mention.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
well heres another question...its says that the deathstike missle cannot destroyed from a weapon destroyed only delayed...my question is what happens if the tank is destroyed or explodes?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
Then it is gone. It specifically states how to handle Weapon Destroyed and any other result are as normal.
 
1 - 20 of 26 Posts
Top