Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A Looted Wagon is useless mainly because it has the idiotic 16.66% chance of leaving a good firing spot, revealing self, and not shooting for a turn. And it's sucky AV11, but that's another point.
It says it instantly stops when it encounters friendly units, and it doesn't shock them or ram them. If I, for example, surround the Wagon with grotz to give it a cover save and stop it from moving, ever, anywhere, and the wagon got a 1 on it's idiotic roll and was forced to move 0" forward... is that still movement?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
well the grotz are guna have to be in BtB contact with the tank...

arnt there rules about being that close?
 

·
Moderator
Joined
·
4,491 Posts
Hmmm... interesting question.

I would think that it would count as moving 0".
Basically counting as moving without actually moving.
Well, thats my opinion anyway, purely for sportsmanship reasons.

You can try to claim it as stationary if you want, but be prepared to receive some disgusted looks from the person on the other side of the table.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
496 Posts
Hmmm... interesting question.

I would think that it would count as moving 0".
Basically counting as moving without actually moving.
Well, thats my opinion anyway, purely for sportsmanship reasons.

You can try to claim it as stationary if you want, but be prepared to receive some disgusted looks from the person on the other side of the table.
this would be my veiw as well, its ok if you want your tank to not move but actualy shooting is a no
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,277 Posts
All seems duable except the cover save. Read the rule books section, about vehicles and cover. It says you don't get any obscuring or cover save unless there is something covering 50% of the tank facing the enemy (For instance a Defiler behind a rhino). So unless you model MC grots no cover save for you.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
5,719 Posts
the gun may fire whether the vehicle moves or not.

As it is Ordnance no other weapons mare fire regardless of movement.

The rules say it must move as far as possible (the distance to the friendly model) so you're following that.

You're taking a Looted Wagon FFS!


Nope, I can't find anything wrong with it. :victory:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanks for the clarification, everyone!
R3con, that is a possibility. But then again, "Oh no! I lost a dozen grots to my exploding wagon! Fourty points down the drain! What ever shall I do!?"
Hahahaha! LukeValantine, monstrous grots would be an AWESOME sight! Hmmm... Yeah, I can probably either lose the cover, or use a bigger bunch of guys, like Lootaz. Now there's an idea. A few Lootaz with one Big Shoota Mek just for the hell of it...
And yes, DeathKlokk, I am probably taking a Looted Wagon at some point. Purely for the modelling/painting reasons. Which is pretty much 90% of the reason I'll be collecting Orks anyway :p
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,122 Posts
as i see it thats completly legal...but you probbly won't get cover saves as the 50% rules applys to all armour and monsters so Grots will not give you that save...but they can kepp your tank in place and hold objectives (if they are troops as i don't own the ork codex) while doing that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,851 Posts
Why hasn't anyone mentioned Red Paint Job?
Even if you are moving a short distance, you count as stationary for whatever you want it to <3
Seriously, RPJ is the single best upgrade in the game, if not for impact on the game, then for ability to fuck around with the rules to get awesome advantages (such as a non-fast vehicle being hit on 6's in melee, but still being able to shoot 1 primary weapon :D).
 

·
Jeep's and Harley's
Joined
·
1,997 Posts
Why hasn't anyone mentioned Red Paint Job?
Even if you are moving a short distance, you count as stationary for whatever you want it to <3
Seriously, RPJ is the single best upgrade in the game, if not for impact on the game, then for ability to fuck around with the rules to get awesome advantages (such as a non-fast vehicle being hit on 6's in melee, but still being able to shoot 1 primary weapon :D).
Not sure how that would work ... if you move @ cruising speed you get no shots, and they would need 6's to hit you. If you move @ combat speed you get one shot and they need 4+ to hit you. Unless there is something I do not know about RPJ.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
488 Posts
Discussion Starter · #19 ·
He probably planned to move 7" to get cruising speed bonus, but retain fire options of combat speed. Or something like that.
I don't think RPJ works like that. You move normally, and then you add one more inch, and that inch is not counted ANYWHERE.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
He probably planned to move 7" to get cruising speed bonus, but retain fire options of combat speed. Or something like that.
I don't think RPJ works like that. You move normally, and then you add one more inch, and that inch is not counted ANYWHERE.
Except it is counted when the vehicle is assaulted. To hits against a vehicle that moved is based on actual distance moved, not speed band. While the chart shows to hits based on speed band, there is a note just under it:
"Note: when assessing how far a vehicle has moved, only take into account the actual distance covered from its original position."​

 
1 - 20 of 48 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top