Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I am a new hobbyist, a REALLY new painter, I haven't even learnt about washes and highlights. But I thought I'd give DIY SM a try.

here's the WIP model using only a standard brush ( I know, excuses, excuses)

In reality, the blue is darker.

Fluff

The Stellar guardians were formed at the start of the great crusade in secret. A small 21st legion. They were ordered by the Emperor to stay on their fleet, making planet falls only when their battle-brothers absolutely needed them. They were the guardian angels, and when Horus betroyed the Emperor for the dark gods, the Stellar Guardians sent their entire chapter towards Terra. Unfortunently, they were held back by their traitorous brothers.

To this day, the Stellar Guardians' fleet is in motion, always heading to where they are needed, always helping those loyal to the Emperor. They still remain a secret, known only to the Emperor, and those who the chapter have saved.

·
Registered
164 Posts
Nice chapter name mate, though i think the fluff may need revising and the 20 chapters of the day are already documented.

·
Registered
601 Posts
I think this could get really awesome. But I'd like to give you a few tips:

When you're going to paint gold (a horrible colour, imo) paint it over a mithril silver base and make sure you've stirred with a clean toothpick (or something) through the gold paint. It tends to get an oily like surface after a while and that makes it harder to get an even coat.

There are some golden spills on the mini. These can easily be removed by just covering them up with blue again.

Don't go for a single thick coat, but use 3, maybe 4, thinner coats to get a nicer finish.