Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All,

After much thought I have decided to postpone the formation of my Imperial Guard army and go for an Ork Waaagh!!! I have the new codex and have read through it, but unfortunately I'm still rather unfamiliar with ork tactics and builds other than the Horde, Mek/Dakka, and Speed Freak archetypes.

I would really appreciate any advice some older vets could tell me about starting an ork army, be it either basic tactics or good unit choices and builds. Since I'm just starting out, I ask that the emphasis of the advice be geared toward lower point games.

Thanks for the help :biggrin:

·
Registered
1,372 Posts
Bigger is better. Getting the most models possible into a unit is generally the best plan so you can use mob rule. Elite or costly units are an exception.
Shootas are fantastic. If you've got your boyz on foot, shootas are the way to go. If you've got them in trukks, slugga boyz are usually better. Nobs in boyz squads should generally have powerklaws and bosspoles. Some make arguments for the big choppa, but I think it's a waste of time generally. Even shoota boyz can throw enough normal attacks to make even MCs take some wounds, but the klaw lets you reliably kill characters, MCs, marines, tanks, and things like plague marines that the boyz have trouble dragging down on their own. Just make sure the nob is in assist with several boyz or stuck in nice and tight so that even after your opponent removes casualties from the boyz, your nob will get his attacks.

Big Meks should have either a KFF or a SAG. Any big mek not including one of those is a waste.
Warboss with warbike, attack squig, PK, and cybork body is an awesome character. He can seriously wreck some stuff if you're careful.