Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The rules for spell famines states that you re-roll fail psychic tests does this mean you re-roll the dice that do not come up 4+. My question is asked because of the chaos artefact in the black legion coded called the last memory of the yuranthos. It says that the model is removed if it fails but I wonder if a spell familiar would prevent that?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
yes, you can reroll the psy test :)
 

·
Rattlehead
Joined
·
6,741 Posts
I would say it doesn't let you re-roll the dice that don't come up as a 4+, because they are rolls to harness Warp Charge and not psychic tests. It would however let you re-roll all the dice if you failed to cast the power. For example, you put four dice into Invisibility and roll a 4,3,3,2. You can't use the Spell Familiar to re-roll the 3s and 2, but you could re-roll all four dice to try and get a better result.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,694 Posts
I would say it doesn't let you re-roll the dice that don't come up as a 4+, because they are rolls to harness Warp Charge and not psychic tests. It would however let you re-roll all the dice if you failed to cast the power. For example, you put four dice into Invisibility and roll a 4,3,3,2. You can't use the Spell Familiar to re-roll the 3s and 2, but you could re-roll all four dice to try and get a better result.
Of course, this. You can reroll the failed psy test for the memory of the yurantos, but you must reroll the WHOLE psy test!!
 

·
Entropy Fetishist
Joined
·
4,249 Posts
Yup, the "test" is the throwing all the dice to see if you get enough warp charge. You have to reroll all the dice, you can't keep the ones you like.

(Also bear in mind that the spell familiar only allows rerolls of failed psychic tests--and Perilses are successes, technically, so you can't reroll a Perils result)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
159 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
remembered the perils werent fails anymore i was just confused about what could or could not get re rolls. you would think the errata would be more specific in this regard not skip over it entirely.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top