Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

Something odd about the Bonesabres

5068 Views 76 Replies 19 Participants Last post by  ChaosRedCorsairLord
Thus not familiar, the Tyranid Special character named the Swarmlord has weapons that if you pass an invulnerable save made against inflicted wounds by the swarmlord, you must reroll them.

So I was looking at the bonesabre rule, I noticed that it makes no mention of you having to reroll only once. I just checked the official GW Tyranid FAQ and they make no mention of it either. Now I believe you'd only have to reroll a passed save once since I don't think I've ever come across an instance where you had to keep rerolling until you fail.

However, I'm wondering that since there is no official ruling that states that the bonesabre's wounds only force one reroll, could you argue that your opponent must keep rerolling his Inv until he receives a wound? Or is there a rule in the BGB that I'm overlooking that supersedes this?

Just a thought, what do you all think?
1 - 2 of 77 Posts
Wow, I didn't expect 8 pages of rule debate...kind of forgot I asked this question :biggrin:

As I said in the initial post, I'm certain that you'd only re-roll once, and being a fair player that's what I'd ask. Should you make your save twice in a row, then I'd just live with it. I've come across the scenario where the Swarmlord and Fateweaver fought each other in cc, and we ruled it that both re-roll rules are negated.

I do believe that there is no difference in probability when figuring out the likelihood of passing or failing a save when asked to do it multiple times. Since you are rolling each dice separately I don't see how the probability of getting a certain roll would be different than the 1st. I'm no expert on Stat, but it doesn't seem that complicated to me
1 - 2 of 77 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.