Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
1) If I buy an equipment doctrine, do my special squads get it as well? Like can I get consripts and ratlings chem-inhalers? Also, can use a junior officer's Ld for them if they are within 12"?

2) For a vox-caster, does only that platoon's command squad benefit from or do the support squads get it as well? For example, I buy a heavy weapon platoon. Does the vox-caster give only my junior officer and his 4 man squad the Ld bonus or do my Lascannon squads get it as well?

Thanks for helping.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
1) Only Guard Infantry (or other units specifically mentioned in the doctrine) can take doctrines. Reread your codex.

2) Only units with a voxcaster can use the voxcaster. If the support squads are within 12" of the Command Squad, then yes they can use the officers modified LD, otherwise, no.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey another question. Can I use a commisar in my command squad so that my master-vox gives everyone LD 10? Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Of course you can.

Commissar + Junior Officer w/Honourifica Imperialis + Master-Vox + Voxes all over the place = LD 10 for every unit that can cary a Voxcaster for +/- 200 points.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Actually, the commissars leadership bonus only applies to leadership checks the command squad has to take, not for squads using his leadership. The only way to get a LD10 vox is with the Imperial High Commander.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
630 Posts
Yep the HI gives the JO LD9 then adding In the Commissar Increases It to 10 which can then be transferred down the vox, Just hope you don't fail a test or the JO gets slapped down! :(
I've generally found a HSO with standard to do the job fine commissars can be a bit pricy and risky, all depends on the build of your list really?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Ok, the HI gives a JO ld9, the Commissar than gives him a +1 for all leadership checks the Command squad has to take, and only those checks. It does not apply to other squads using his leadership. Since Vox checks are not leadership checks the Command Squad is taking, they do not get the +1 bonus. They do get to use the Ld of 9 however.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
I'm curious as to how you came to this conclusion PadreJim? I'm not against it, as my infantry army uses a vox network extensively and this would be an awesome addition!

As I read it though:
Codex: Ld+1 Applies to leadership checkls the command squad has to take.

According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.

But then it also says that the +1 LD does appy to his command rule. The command rule doesn't affect the vox network though... so I'm not sure how that applies.

Just curious as to your interpretation.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
383 Posts
Necrontyr said:
According to the FAQ though, Iron Discipline, Trademark Items, and other special rules do not go down a vox network.
If you go to the Erratas page you'll notice that that FAQ is in the Old Codex FAQs section.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Well yes it is, because there isn't a 4th edition Guard codex, there is only an old codex...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
Wait another thing is if I take an Independant Commissar can he go and attach himself to either a conscript or rattling squad and give them all LD 10? That would solve many of my problems.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,602 Posts
the old faq's are still the current interpretation of the rules. they just get replaced when the new codex comes out, and then the new faq comes out relevent to the new codex.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
221 Posts
Page 41 of the Imperial Guard 4th Edition Codex reads, "The presense of a Commisar in a unit will therefore add +1 to the Leadership characteristic of the officer or sergeant commanding the unit for tests affecting the unit."

With that said, it's a pretty glaringly obvious no. As units that are vox-linked are not the same unit, only the unit with the Commisar gets the +1 bonus. Meaning that it doesn't transfer down the vox line.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,822 Posts
Well, it's confusing because the FAQ disagrees with the test in the codex. Bear in mind that these FAQs were written to allow us to continue to us our "old Codex" in 4th ed. There are two parts of the FAQ related to this discussion.

1. The boosted Leadership works for the Officer's Leadership rule. So any unit within 12" of the Officer can test at LD 10 (Assuming HSO or Honorifica with Commissar).

2. Special rules such as Iron D, etc do not work down a Vox link.

Don "MONDO"
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Top