Warhammer 40k Forum and Wargaming Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm having some trouble painting my armies. I'm nit sure if its the paint I'm using, or maybe how and when I paint them.

I've heard people tell me to put the model together then paint them, but some people strictly advise painting while on the sprues. I've heard people say painting on the sprues because the paint messes up the glue, but I use zap a gap which works wonders and have had no problem.

How does everyone else do it??

·
Registered
217 Posts
I'm a sprue painter... and even when the paint gets a little eaten by the glue (superglue - turns everything white) its usually a quick touch up unless you do mixed colors or wet blend those spots heavily

edit: i take that back... it depends on the model.. my DP i painted after assembled except a couple small pieces that would have covered part of the model (shoulder pad) but for core units and the like i prefer sprue painting

·
Premium Member
5,116 Posts
I tend to assemble the mini as far as I can without making anything too difficult to reach, so I'll normally leave an arm and the bolt gun off of a space marine so I can get everything with the brush.
I don't paint on the sprue, too much fussing around with tidying stuff up later, clip everything off, clean it up and if necessary put it on a pin or rig of some sort for painting.

·
Registered
101 Posts
I assemble the miniature and then paint it at least for all non vehicle models. For vehicles it depends on if there are areas that would be very difficult to paint after the whole thing is assemble, such as with Drop Pods. In this case I assemble as much as I can leaving the area I want to paint exposed and once I am finished painting that area glue the rest of the model together and continue painting.

·
Registered
1,755 Posts